Reloader's Nest Forum
Reloader's Nest Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Reloading General
 General forum
 .308 win bullet drop
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

HighPoint

USA
281 Posts

Posted - Jul 26 2009 :  13:29:34  Show Profile Send HighPoint a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Hey guys just got back from the range shooting the new rifle I got, a Savage BAS-K .308 winchester, with 24" heavy fluted barrel, I am sighted in at 1/2 inch high at 140 yds, but at 250yds if I aim true I have about 6 to 7 inches of bullet drop, on 30 x I could hold on the first mill dot and hit where I wanted, is this normal bullet drop for the .308 winchester, I am new to shooting this caliber. The load I am using is 168 gr. nosler custom competition BTHP, 45 gr. of BL-C(2), LC Brass trim 2.005, cci mag primer, coal 2.800, I dont know the speed, no chrony yet. this seems like alot of drop to me but I am new to the caliber and am no expert on it yet, I have high rings mounted on a good size picitiny rail, could this be a factor. I will post a pic to let you see the hieghth of the scope, THANKS

BISCUT

3501 Posts

Posted - Jul 26 2009 :  14:05:09  Show Profile Send BISCUT a Private Message  Reply with Quote
HighPoint:

It's been a while since I've dealt w. drop in the 308 but IIRC 3.5-4" would seem about norm. Others here can nail it for you probably from memory. SD on the boolit should be pretty damn good as well. Haven't used BL-C(2) so maybe a light charge? 24" tube should more than enought long to get complete powder burn. Interested to see what others have to say.
Go to Top of Page

Matthew222

USA
360 Posts

Posted - Jul 26 2009 :  20:50:02  Show Profile Send Matthew222 a Private Message  Reply with Quote