Reloader's Nest Forum
Reloader's Nest Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Reloading General
 General forum
 416 Ruger Range Report
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

hog boy

234 Posts

Posted - Aug 05 2009 :  17:42:21  Show Profile Send hog boy a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I picked up my 416 Ruger last night. It is a Ruger Model 77 Hawkeye Alaskan. It sports a Hogue Overmold stock, and a 20 inch matte stainless steel barrel. I mounted a Leupold VX-III, 2.5x8x36 on top. All said and done, this set up comes in weighing just under nine pounds. It is a fine looking firearm.

I loaded up 20 rounds of ammunition for range testing. The powders I had on hand to choose from were W-748, W-760, and Reloder 15. I went with the 748 simply because I have never used it before, and being that it is a ball powder, it meters real well. My bullet of choice was the 400 grain Swift A-Frame. I used new Hornady cases and Federal 215 primers. I seated to an OAL of 3.005Ē and used a slight taper crimp. I loaded 5 rounds at 73 grains, and 3 each increasing in half grain increments to 75.5 grains. The load data I received from Hornady lists a max of 75.3 grains with a velocity of 2250 fps.