Reloader's Nest Forum
Reloader's Nest Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Hunting
 Reaction when hit
 InterBond vs. AccuBond
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Sureshot_RJC

Canada
26 Posts

Posted - Mar 02 2010 :  21:47:36  Show Profile Send Sureshot_RJC a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I have done some research on both Hornady and Nosler websites and from what I can tell from what is given they are nearly identical. Both have the bonded technology, the synthetic tip for accuracy, both are supposed to keep 90%+ of bullet weight, the only thing I can see a difference in is price (my hunting store sells the Hornady's for about 5$/100 bullets less than the Noslers).

I am a broke university student, I want to do what I can to save whatever I can (which is hard because hunting, fishing, and shooting are apparently expensive hobbies) but I also want to have top quality stuff for my hunting/reloading. So from people who may have used both do they perform similarly enough for me to get the cheaper Hornady InterBonds without sacrificing the proven quality people on this forum swear by of the Nosler AccuBonds?

woods
Advanced Member

USA
2013 Posts

Posted - Mar 02 2010 :  23:14:05  Show Profile Send woods a Private Message  Reply with Quote
The Hornady Interbond and the Nosler Accubond have different terminal performance characteristics.

The Interbond is all bonded and it will retain much more of the lead and the lead will fold out into a large mushroom, like a Swift A-Frame or a Trophy Bonded Bear Claw.

The Accubond is the replacement for the Nosler Partition and is made to only retain approximately 70% of it's weight. The front part of the Accubond will shed and the petals fold back against the shaft and the bullet will keep penetrating.