Converting 9.3x62 to 8 mm Mauser
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

manobras

10 Posts

Posted - Oct 17 2016 :  05:42:44  Show Profile Send manobras a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Hello,

I'm new to reloading. Please excuse my dumb questions.

I've read a lot regarding case conversions using 30-06 cases and I've successfully converted some 30-06 cases to 8 mm Mauser.

As far as I know it's also possible to convert 30-06 to 9.3x62, but what I really would like to do is to convert a bunch of 9.3x62 to 8 mm Mauser.

Is this possible? Is the process similar to the 30-06 to 8 mm conversion? Just run the empty 9.3x62 case through the 8 mm Mauser die and trim the excess?

Thank you in advance.

Kind regards,
MD

Kind regards,
MD

ligonierbill

USA
202 Posts

Posted - Oct 17 2016 :  06:38:12  Show Profile Send ligonierbill a Private Message  Reply with Quote
There may be a way, but I think you'll just crush the case. The 9.3x62 is not only 5 mm longer, the shoulder is further forward relative to the case body to maximize capacity. And you're reducing the diameter of the mouth; even if it doesn't buckle, you'd have to turn it. Just buy 8x57 cases, they're plentiful. Sell the 9.3, they're not. Why try to convert a relatively rare case to a very common one?
Go to Top of Page

manobras

10 Posts

Posted - Oct 17 2016 :  08:37:49  Show Profile Send manobras a Private Message  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by ligonierbill

There may be a way, but I think you'll just crush the case. The 9.3x62 is not only 5 mm longer, the shoulder is further forward relative to the case body to maximize capacity. And you're reducing the diameter of the mouth; even if it doesn't buckle, you'd have to turn it. Just buy 8x57 cases, they're plentiful. Sell the 9.3, they're not. Why try to convert a relatively rare case to a very common one?

Hi,

Thanks for your answer.