Seating Depth On 7mm RM Loads
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Bang4TheBuck
Starting Member

USA
5 Posts

Posted - Oct 22 2016 :  09:46:11  Show Profile Send Bang4TheBuck a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I am now to the forum, and glad to be part of it. I have been loading intermittently for about 20 years. I started initially for economy, and have now been working on more precision loads. I appear to have made a rookie mistake in my load development. I loaded 35 carteridges with Winchester cases, CCI Large rilfe Magnum primers, and H1000 charges varied in 1 grain increments from 63 grains to 69 grains. I seated all of the 168 gr. Berger Match Hunting bullets at Spec COAL (3.290") I went to the range and tested all, by simply shooting 4 shot groups of each load with cool down between groups. 66 grains produced the smallest group (sub 3/4"). I was intending on then fine tuning from there by adjusting seating depth. I am now realizing that I might have make a mistake by not setting to longest COAL (.010 to ..015 off the lands), and working down (reducing the COAL) in small increments until I find the tightest group. So, my question is, do I need to start over with charge weights and longer cartridges, or can I use what I learned from the tests done at the spec COAL? Thanks in advance for the help.

Ireload2

USA
286 Posts

Posted - Oct 22 2016 :  11:08:35  Show Profile Send Ireload2 a Private Message  Reply with Quote
I usually start long because the pressures are probably the highest when touching the rifling. I can always make them shorter - even at the range if I take a seating die and some sort of press.
I concentrate on making my ammo as straight as possible and I usually find a decent load when touching the rifling.
However I have a 6mm Rem and I cannot load such ammo in the magazine so it was worked up with a long jump. That rifle is very accurate too.