Reloader's Nest Forum
Reloader's Nest Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Reloading General
 Load request
 Need help, 6.5-284 hunting gun, 120 gr. TSX
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

cfvickers
Advanced Member

1893 Posts

Posted - Nov 09 2008 :  20:40:23  Show Profile Send cfvickers a Private Message  Reply with Quote
OK, I just got all of my own stuff for reloading, funds are an issue, and the fact that I need some ammo before I can get to a place to get different powder. I need a place to start with 120 gr. TSX and H4831SC. I have reloaded before, I am not a beginner, I just can't find any load data for the bullet and power combo. I know the TSX has some different attributes than lead core bullets so would it still be OK to use the same base loads as with other 120 grain bullets?

Thanks in advance.

Ds28

USA
3281 Posts

Posted - Nov 09 2008 :  21:08:27  Show Profile Send Ds28 a Private Message  Reply with Quote
yes it would be ok, as long as you start at the low end and work up watching for pressure signs

from Hodgdon's 2008 manual
6.5-284
120grn sp
H4831
starting 48grns=2651fps
max of 52.5grns=2871
all using fed 210 primer
barrel was 24" with a 1-9" twist

good luck

arguing over the internet is like the special Olympics....even if you win, you are still...special!
Go to Top of Page

WILLIAMDOERSAM

USA
1513 Posts

Posted - Nov 09 2008 :  21:22:07  Show Profile Send WILLIAMDOERSAM a Private Message  Reply with Quote
Barnes does tend to skid down the tube a tad bit slower than regular bullets. At least they did in my Swede.

With the 284 I would tend to start about 46 grs and work up looking for pressure signs, the usual suspects.

Sierra lists 52.4 grs as a top/max load for the HPBT Matchking. That bullet also has a tough jacket, how it compares to Barnes, I don't know.