Quantcast
 
      
 
Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Register
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 Donations

Please help us keeping this
site running by your donation.
You can donate by all major
credit cards or phone, through PayPal,
Alertpay or by DaoPay



 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the Barnes TSX bullet.
 
I missed standing shot on a whitetail buck at 45 yards but the second shot (running at 40 yards) took the buck in the lower shoulder. It was a 200 yard tracking job that ended in a final shot. The original striking bullet was still in the deer under the far side skin but had failed to penetrate from a .300 Winchester Short Magnum! Bullet weight retention was good (I forget now the weight) but the buck still was a difficult track and I was disappointed it did not exit. I've had similar results from non-bonded bullets at close range but expected different from the X-Bullet. I use the 120 gr TTSX in my 7mm-08 and am a Barnes believer, but I believe every situation is a little different. Running game present a different challenge in "power" is what 30 years has taught me. Latest mulie at 160 yds was a prime example... retrieved a non-bonded powerpoint under the far shoulder at 26% weight retention but DRT. Good luck, your mileage may vary!
Submitted by: Browing_BAR
Date: 10/28/2014
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have shot game with and watched game be shot with the Barnes TSX bullets in various calibers and weights ranging from 6mm 85gr to .338 225 grain and have never been less than impressed with the bullets performance upon impact. I saw my son take his elk at 245yds with his 300WM using 165 TSX with what I would term a "raking shot" which hit at the left rear hind quarters high breaking the femur in half and traveling up through the vitals and then to lodge under the hide in the brisket. The bullet still retained over 70% it's original weight. They do required velocity to perform on impact. With proper velocity they will open in water.
Submitted by: 1stump, Spring Creek, NV
Date: 6/4/2014
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Just wanted to let you all know I shot a Bison earlier this month with my Tikka .338 using 225g TSX. Bullet went through both shoulders and liquified the lungs/aorta. One shot on this 2000 lb. animal and he fell over dead within 10 feet of being shot. That is the type of bullet performance I have come to expect from this awesome bullet.
Submitted by: TK
Date: 1/27/2012
Rifle used: Tikka
Caliber: .338
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I forgot to mention in my TTSX review that I was shoot a 180 gr. bullet. Same here with 180 gr. bullet. I don't know the exact count on deer that I've used the TSX on and a couple antelope and a couple elk. All one shot kills and dropped on the spot. Accuracy is sub MOA. averaging .380 in. grps. One elk I shot with the 180 gr. TSX was at 544 certified by Lieca rangefinder yds. The only time I took 2 shots but he was dead on the first shot. The first shot shattered his front leg above the elbow and went in chest, clipped part of his heart with no exit. He turned around and I hit him in the same exact spot on the oppisite side. Shattered his leg above the elbow and into his chest with no exit. Dropped right there. The best 2 shots I've ever made on game. Have made some over 400 yd. shots with TSX on antelope and 300 plus on deer. Polaxed everytime. I've never noticed this with the many other types of bullets I've shot in the last 35 yrs. They have been my most accurate bullet in my .243,.308,7mm Rem mag and 300 RUM along with the TTSX. I'd recommend them to everybody.
Submitted by: WYO300RUM
Date: 5/6/2011
Rifle used: Rem Mod 700 SS
Caliber: 300 RUM
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used this bullet since 2004 with great success on pronghorn, deer, and elk. Accuracy with my load and rifle has always been sub moa.
Submitted by: southwind
Date: 4/9/2011
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Have loaded the 53gr TSX for my 22-250 for a number of years. I was looking for a bullet that I could shot hogs with and get the penetration needed for a solid kill time after time. The Barnes TSX has not disappointed me and 12-15 hogs from 90-350# have gone down with none going over 50 feet.
Submitted by: Bluegunner
Date: 9/9/2010
Rifle used: Savage
Caliber: 22-250
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I started loading the Triple Shock in my 250 Ackley after having an interesting incident with 100gr Nosler BTs. I hit a good sized buck at about 20 yards and it got up as fast as it went down, walked away and never left a blood trail. This was not a failure on the bullet's part as the BT wasn't designed to hit at 3100+ fps. However, since most shots in PA where I was hunting are under 100 yards, I needed a change. Since then I've shot three deer with three shots with identical results; .257 cal hole where the bullet went in, a perfect 1" hole going out, and everything in between turned to red jello. I hit one of the deer running at about 150 yards and it looked like the deer ran into a strand of barbed wire fence they way it went down. Excellent bullets.
Submitted by: Col K
Date: 8/28/2010
Rifle used: Custom Rem 700
Caliber: 250 Ackley Improved
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have been using the Barnes TSX in several calibers for as many years. I have never had an animal walk more than a few steps, including Elk. the standard is caliber size entrance and at least 1" exit. Even on Whitetail size animals. I have spoken many times with the balistics folks at Barnes and what they tell me is speed is the key. I am a boiler room shooter, not a high shoulder. As for the BT, I don't like eating framents that much!! This Barnes is very accurate in all my firearms.
Submitted by: Hilblly
Date: 4/10/2010
Rifle used: Various
Caliber: Various
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Well I thought I'd never say it but I've gone back to BT's for deer. The TSX will kill a deer dead but they will still run a significant distance ... leaving a blood trail that the blind could follow. I agree with dt's comment to a point but let's just say dt obviously needs more exercise than I do. I totally recommend the TSX for moose, elk and big bears.
Submitted by: TK
Date: 11/22/2009
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Have been using TSX since they came out. Recently loaded the 168gr TSX with 60.5 grains of RL19, Win Case, Federal 215M primer in my 30-06. One ragged hole at 100yd. Fantastic!!!
Submitted by: Seb
Date: 10/7/2009
Rifle used: K95 Blazer
Caliber: 30-06
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have shot numerous animals with Barnes solid copper bullets, performance has always been excellent. When people state that the bullets just pencilled through and the animal just runs off , I'm unsure what they mean. The animal would have to die for them to find this out. Over and over again whether the range is 20 or 400 yards the result is the same; calibre sized entrance wound and 3/4 inch exit from any angle with all internal organs liquified between the holes.
Submitted by: dt
Date: 5/7/2009
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Performance on deer sized game is somewhat poor. Obviously all passed through but with little expansion. Bullet better suited for large game, i'm sure it will put a hurtin' on elk, moose, ect... I'm also having trouble getting my 100 yard groups under 1.5 inches. Nothing wrong with that but my rifle will touch 3 shots consistantly at 100yds. Folks at barns told me to try seating bullet 70 thousandths off the lands, no luck there either
Submitted by: Rifleman
Date: 11/24/2008
Rifle used: TC Icon
Caliber: .308 winchester
Hunting performance: 2 Accuracy performance: 1
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have shot this bullet ever seen it has hit the market through 2 rifles. a Winchester XTR 338 win mag and a Ruger M77 338 win mag and no other bullet even compares. The amount of knock down power is amazing. i have yet to chase a wounded animal while shooting this bullet. Shot a 6x7 bull elk last year at 745 yards raised about a 3 elk widths over him shooting a 225 grain bullet and i squeezed it off when i got back on him the bullet had just hit and he fell dead on the spot. bullet entered behind the left shoulder and was recovered in right shoulder. picture perfect mushroom and retained almost 100% of its weight.i will never switch to another bullet. Hope i got you wanting to try out this bullet because once you do you will never change back to your old bullet.
Submitted by: Eric
Date: 7/30/2008
Rifle used: Winchester XTR
Caliber: 338 win mag
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have shot this bullet ever seen it has hit the market through 2 rifles. a Winchester XTR 338 win mag and a Ruger M77 338 win mag and no other bullet even compares. The amount of knock down power is amazing. i have yet to chase a wounded animal while shooting this bullet. Shot a 6x7 bull elk last year at 745 yards raised about a 3 elk widths over him shooting a 225 grain bullet and i squeezed it off when i got back on him the bullet had just hit and he fell dead on the spot. bullet entered behind the left shoulder and was recovered in right shoulder. picture perfect mushroom and retained almost 100% of its weight.i will never switch to another bullet. Hope i got you wanting to try out this bullet because once you do you will never change back to your old bullet.
Submitted by: Eric
Date: 7/30/2008
Rifle used: Winchester XTR
Caliber: 338 win mag
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Tripple shocked another bear. 165gr TSX 308 at 2700 fps. Small entrance hole very large exit. Hit the shoulder going out. Bear died on the spot. Great bullet! Off angle shot from back of ribs to shoulder through both lungs.
Submitted by: KenB
Date: 6/23/2008
Rifle used: Savage Model 16
Caliber: 308 Win
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Switched to Triple Shock because I shoot light fast bullets and they tend to blow up. I love the way these bullets stay togeather and continue to penetrate. I always get a nice exit hole with these bullets. They shoot almost as well as the most accurate bullet I can shoot, and get 1 inch groups at 200 yards. I can get .7 inch groups at 200 yards with a varmint bullet. So I rate the accuracy a 5, but it is my prefered hunting bullet. I use it in my wildcat, my 7MM Weatherby and my 25-06.
Submitted by: Robbin
Date: 6/16/2008
Rifle used: Encore
Caliber: 25-06
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use these 180 triple shocks in my .300 wby through a 27" lilja at 3300fps. Shoots 3 shot .25 groups at 100meters. Have shot multiple 3 shot 3.5" groups at 700meters. One 2.5" pair at 1000meters. Bullets are good to about 700m and after that they don't really open anymore-poke holes in animals. Out to 700 work excellent and very accurate. Dropped Roosevelt elk in his tracks this year at 280meters. Work just as advertised. Bullets like to be seated deep. Mine got very accurate at .140 from rifling. Overall, excellent bullet as long as it's used in it's designed velocity range.
Submitted by: Tumbleweed
Date: 3/27/2008
Rifle used: Remington 700 Classic
Caliber: .300 Wby Mag
Hunting performance: 4 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have shot the Barnes Triple Shocks for the last 4 years and i absolutely LOVE them. I shoot them out of my 338 win mag in 225 grain with excellent groups on paper and in the field. I have shoot 4 elk with them one being an extremely large 6x7 bull at 724 yards and i shot once it hit the bull right in the front shoulders and dropped him on the spot. They have extremely good penetration and they mushroom beautifully and retain almost 100% of their weight. The pictures you see on the Barnes website are exactly what you get. Ill NEVER EVER shot another bullet.
Submitted by: Eric
Date: 3/8/2008
Rifle used: Winchester XTR
Caliber: 338 win mag
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shot a large moose with the 0.308 165gr TSX. The first shot went through the lungs just behind the shoulder. This bullet was full pass through and was not recovered. It looked to be about a 2 exit wound. The second shot was poor and hit the rear ham just above the knee, broke the rear leg bone then went through the front shoulder just above the knee. It also broke that leg bone. The bullet was recovered in the outside hide. That bullet weighed 164 grains and looks like the sales photos. Impact velocity was about 2400 fps from 308 win. These bullets are great.
Submitted by: KenB
Date: 1/20/2008
Rifle used: Ruger
Caliber: 308 Win
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Myself and friends have hunted in Africa 6 times. We use Barnes TSX almost exclusively. Have hunted everything from springbuck to Cape Buffalo. Accuracy in 7 mag, 3006, 375HH, and 416 Rem. has been excellent(1 MOA or better). Performance on game has been more than excellent. Not all kills were one shot but those are hard to come by on Cape Buffalo and poorly placed shots on African game can lead to multiple shot followups but never has a properly hit animal required anything more than an insurance shot. May be too tough for a whitetail but definately the ticket for African game.
Submitted by: Michael Biles
Date: 1/6/2008
Rifle used: Multiple
Caliber: Multiple
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I used the barnes 160 grain 7mm wsm to take down my first moose ever he was a bull with a 54 inch spread. I shot him across a marsh at 342 yards i took one shot and hit him in the shoulder and droped him in his tracks. My dad has ben hunting for over 30 years and he was with me and he said he couldent belive what he saw and now we will never use any other bullet.
Submitted by: buck hunter
Date: 12/3/2007
Rifle used: browning
Caliber: 7mm wsm
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I load 168 Barnes TSX for my Rem. 700 rifle in 3006 w/a 24" barrel. I use 62 grains of reloader 19 with federal 210 primers. This is good for about 2900 fps. Ive been getting 3 shot groups under an inch. Last deer season I shot a mule deer at 265 yards through the lungs. The buck dropped at the shot. The bullet passed completly through with very little meat damage. I am very happy so far with this bullet.
Submitted by: K Durham
Date: 12/1/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Barnes TSX are the only bullets I use now. I have never recovered a single bullet, they pass through every time and leave two holes. They can be pushed to extreme velocities too. I have killed game from 50 yards to 300 yards, the design envelope for this cartridge is zero yards to infinity, so I guess there is no design envelope.
Submitted by: TRM
Date: 11/20/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
ive shot barnes for prolly 8 years now in alaska,from dall sheep at 180 grains from my .300 weatherby at 500 yards to brown bear at 50 yards with my .416 and my 500 S&W pistol for protection,ill never shoot anouther bullet tell the day i die they hold together and do what there suppose to do.and for me shoot quarter inch groups with my .300 weatherby,i live and die by barnes.
Submitted by: rislunt
Date: 10/1/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use for big game hunting this bullet and it is phenomenal.In 30-06 I'm confident enough to put any animal in its tracks.
Submitted by: www.artemis-hunting.com
Date: 6/29/2007
Rifle used: BenelliR1
Caliber: 30-06
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shot a black bear at 30 yards with a 165 grain 0.308 Barnes TSX. The bullet entered the ribs behind the shoulder and passed through both lungs. The exit wound was impressive at about 2 inches in diameter. Estimated impact velocity was about 2600 fps. Shot from a 308 Win. The bear dropped like a rock. The bullet did exactly what it was designed to do. Excellent bullet.
Submitted by: KenB
Date: 6/20/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Took a good cape buffalo bull in the Zambezi Valley, Zimbabwe in June 06. 300 gr. bullet in a .375 H & H. One shot at 80 yards. Bullet went in behind the left shoulder and came to rest in the right shoulder. Perfect performance. Bull went about 50 yds before piling up.
Submitted by: Walter Harrison
Date: 5/9/2007
Rifle used: CZ 550 Safari
Caliber: .375 H & H
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Chronographed at 3500 fps from a 26" bbl in my 270wsm killed several whitetail from 60 to 250 yards. Have not found a bullet yet, all complete pass throughs. On the bench it produces one ragged hole. Absolutely awesome bullet. No problem finding hit animals because they go straight down.
Submitted by: Southern boy
Date: 3/26/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have always been partial to the Partition in all of my years of hunting. However when I bought the 300 Win Mag, I could not get them to group well. Switching to the BarnesTriple Shock not only tightened up my group, but performed flawless on game. I have harvested 3 animals now with my Barnes load, and all of them have been one shot kills. First was a Alaska Yukon Mouse shot from 275 yards and exiting through the vitals. Secondly a Black Bear breaking through both shoulder blades and exiting. To demonstrate its long range accuracy, I took a Couse Deer at 427 yds dropping him right in his tracks. Barnes Triple Shocks are a truly amazing bullet. I plan on using them exclusively in all of my hunting rifles.
Submitted by: Elliot Weigel
Date: 2/9/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I hunted with Barnes TSX this year but will go back to lead bullets next year. Shot a yearling bull moose in BC with the 200 gr. at 320 yards. Hit him in the spine just below the chin as he was facing me. There was no exit wound. Placed a $40 bounty on the bullet with the butcher but he couldn't find it. When the bullet impacted, there was a mist of fine "spray" on the water back in my direction, except for one larger splash. Could the bullet have bounced off? Probably not, but the bullet definitely went only half way through the vertebra. A mystery. I could get these 200 gr bullets to group nicely (at 3050 fps) regardless of weather conditions but not so with the 130gr loads (at 3800 fps). Seemed to me on cold days the groups really opened up. Also, I didn't like the overall performance on the whitetail and antelope does I shot in MT. Petals broke off and left blood shot meat that should have been unaffected, given they were all rib shots. On warm days they flew very well, though. Held 4 feet over one doe at 650 yards and hit her in the shoulder. Checked it on Google Map. My buddy used my rifle on a 300 yard head shot. Very clean. Overall, I'd say Barnes TSX can be very accurate, but inconsistant too. I won't use them anymore.
Submitted by: Dan K.
Date: 11/13/2006
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have been a partition type of guy for a long time and always got acceptable results with them and then one day I tried using some 140 gr .277 TSX's with my 270 WSM. Every animal I have shot with them has dropped in it's tracks except for one muley buck that ran about 50 yards before colapsing under a pine tree. I have used them on 4 elk and 4 mule deer so far and never recovered a bullet so far. But I do feel that they seam to work better in high velocity cartridges (over 3,000 fps) than in slower ones where they might not fully expand as well.
Submitted by: turner1978
Date: 11/6/2006
Rifle used: winchester model 70
Caliber: .270 WSM
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I just got back from hunting last week with dt and we both shot a nice deer. Mine was a 375 yrd. shot through both lungs of a nice buck ... total penetration. The TSX group nicely in both my .338 and in my daughter's 7mm-08. I'm a converted Partition shooter. No need to ever look elsewhere - accuracy, weight retention and easy to load. The what I like is the tips don't get mashed in my .338 clip like the partitions.
Submitted by: TK
Date: 10/2/2006
Rifle used: Tikka / Savage
Caliber: .338 / 7mm-08
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I just got back from an elk hunt today. On the first day i got to see the difference in bullet performance between the barnes bullet and a winchester ct silvertip. I won't go into alot of detail but all we found off the silvertip bullet was the jacket,total penetration 7 inches, that shot was at 200 yrds with 180 gr. out of a 300 win mag. My first shot was at 300 yrds with 225 gr tsx out of a 338 win mag. The bullet entered the right hip and went up into the liver.My second shot went behind the right front shoulder and stopped under the skin on the left flank, from 70 yrds.Both barnes bullets retained 95% + of their wieght.The tsx's are very easy to load my load went .75 for 3 shots with 70 gr. of imr 4831,just play with seating depth after finding max.
Submitted by: s rowsom
Date: 9/23/2006
Rifle used: m70 winchester gaillard bbl
Caliber: 338 win mag
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 4
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
excellent accuracy with minimal load workup in both 7mm rem mag and 338 win mag.cant wait to try them on game this fall.
Submitted by: dt
Date: 9/10/2006
Rifle used: browning a bolt
Caliber: 338 win mag 7mm rem mag
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have a Rem. Md700 BDL 30-06 that has shot OK at best 2" groups @ 100 with a full assortment of bullets, powder and primers and cases, finely I decided on trying the TSX in 168gr the gun is now a 3/4" shooter with IMR-4350 and Fed 215GM primers, I use this as my back up elk gun but now I have full faith in it if needed.
Submitted by: Huntducks
Date: 8/8/2006
Rifle used: Rem. 700 BDL
Caliber: 30-06
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
180gr weatherby brass Fed 215gm primer 3.725 AOL 3260fps 81.5gr H4831 .45" 4 shot group 26" barrel Weatherby Accumark This is my load for hunting in Alaska!! Shot many animals with this load and all 1 shot kills!
Submitted by: Magnus
Date: 7/23/2006
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I used nosler ballistic tips before.They come apart on me.I switched to tsx 130g deer after deer they have performed just like barnes said they would.TSX are very accurate to under 1/2 inch in my 270 wsm. William
Submitted by: william
Date: 3/9/2006
Rifle used: savage 12fvss
Caliber: 270 wsm
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
130 grs. In todays magnum rounds we have seen and heard of to many bullets that blow up on close shots. These don't yet still perform at longer ranges. I took a nice 8 point at 140 yards, with no sign of bullet failure. The MV for my load is over 3200FPS and on target it was still estimated at over 3000FPS. No problem for this bullet. They are expensive for shoot paper though.
Submitted by: Erik Singletary
Date: 1/21/2006
Rifle used:
Caliber: 270 Winchester
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Extensive testing included the 300 gr .375, and 450 and 500 grain .458 TSX bullets with African experience with the 300 grain .375 and 450 grain .458. These all tend to be more accurate and faster then the older plain X-bullets using the same powder and charge weights. Performance of the 300 grain 375 was excellent on Zebra and Wildebeast with the latter piling up with chunks of coughed up lung tissue around it after a 75 yard run with bullet striking medial of left shoulder on frontal quartering shot. The 450 gr .458 flattened to the shank and retained 3 of the four petals when fired into a Cape Buffalo shoulder at 15 feet. (Buffalo dropped dead 75 feet from initial impact point with a 100 yard hit by a 450 grain .458 banded solid). TSX smashed through the shoulder and traveled 4 feet to the rear of the stomach area (through a whole bunch of cud). Killing power more than adequate and borders on spectacular in these calibers. Takes the worry out of having to be "close" if one has to track the wounded beastie.
Submitted by: R Bridges
Date: 8/18/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I've started using the 180gr. Barnes TSX bullet for my hunting loads in my 300 Win Mag. I was imediately impressed with its accuracy. I have since taken two deer with this bullet, both instant kills where the deer just dropped when hit in the boiler room. I'm now trying this bullet in my new .300 WSM with good accuracy. I'm experimenting with the 168gr. and the 180gr. and seem to be getting sub-inch groups with the 168gr on a regular basis. I can't wait to try this out on my Black Bear hunt in Northern California this fall.
Submitted by: GSteinUSA
Date: 9/9/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
OUTSTANDING BULLET, after using the partition for years and not happy with the results from the last 3 elk, all shot dead square in the boiler room, one bullet even came apart when hit between two ribs, i bought the barnes triple shock bullets and the first three out of the gun were touching at 100 yards ( no load work )went to 300 yards and 1-1/2 inch group not a problem, i went on my spring bear hunt and tipped one over at 520 yards (leica ranged) it only took one bullet to put him down and out, anyone want to buy some partitions ?
Submitted by: killer john
Date: 8/22/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shot these in a Remington Sendero 7mm STW. My load was 82 grains of R22 and the velocity was 3613fps with no sign of pressure but make sure to work up to this charge. I shot a 3 shot group at 100 yards that measured .294 inches. I am very impressed with this new bullet and cannot wait to try it on some Game.
Submitted by: Kory
Date: 3/3/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
The 7mm 260gr shoots inch groups for me from my model 70 in 7wsm. My loads are with Rl-19 going about 2950 fps. I took a cow Elk this fall with it. the bullet destroyed the pelvis on the far side, and lodged just unde the skin. It didnt open at all, but the shot was 530 yards which probably explains it.
Submitted by: Mark Larson
Date: 1/1/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Barnes fans should try this new Barnes bullet for accuracy.I have shot groups in the .2's and .3's with both the 168 and 180's,with 5 shot groups of 1/2 inch from my .300 Win.mag.Do not know how it will perform on game,yet.
Submitted by: Jim Hundley
Date: 11/30/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy