Quantcast
 
      
 
Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Register
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 Donations

Please help us keeping this
site running by your donation.
You can donate by all major
credit cards or phone, through PayPal,
Alertpay or by DaoPay



 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the Barnes TTSX bullet.
 
I am afraid Mr. Hogwacker did not look in between the holes. I have had many people say with nosler partition and also barnes x family the bullet didn,t open because same size holes ion both sides. Gosh. Animal dropped at the shot. Hmmmmmm? High velocity my friend. Blows the front off and mushes everything in the middle.
Submitted by: Dave Emerson
Date: 6/12/2012
Rifle used: custom
Caliber: 25-06 improved
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Always outstanding performance! The most impressive terminal performance was Mtn. Goat hunting in BC. After 7 days of hunting I finally had a 242 yd shot. My guide had been telling me war stories the entire trip about poor shots and poor bullet performance. I was not about to become another "war story" so I opted for a neck shot. At the squeeze of the trigger the Billy dropped like a rock and slid down the mtn gaining speed. We ended up tackling him before he went over the cliff! My guide was so jazzed he was more excited than I was! The exit hole was about 3" in dia. He was DOA!
Submitted by: Nalgi
Date: 2/3/2012
Rifle used: Win. Mod. 70
Caliber: .300 WSM
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I tried the 130 gr TTSX in my 300RUM this year and it has been nothing but impressive. I am shooting it at around 3800 fps and it is very accurate and shoots extremely flat. I killed a good 5x5 bull elk at 330 yards shot through the base of his neck. The exit wound was about the size of a silver dollar and the bull never knew what hit him he was DRT.
Submitted by: Bossman
Date: 11/17/2011
Rifle used: Rem 700 XHR
Caliber: 300 RUM
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I started handloading the 110 grain .284 TTSX in .280 Remington early in the 2010 season. It has performed flawlessly on every deer and hog I have harvested. Since then I have switched to the TTSX in .25-06, .30-06 and .300WSM. Caliber sized entry holes and one inch exit holes. Everything in between is turned to mush. I've even switched to Barnes bullets in .50 caliber sabot muzzle loaders. Barnes bullets do what they are advertised to do. I can't attest to the bullet weight retention however, because I've never recovered one. All shots at various distances, on mixed game to different parts of the anatomy have been complete pass throughs. Barnes bullets are the closest thing there is to a death ray for game.
Submitted by: Big Mike
Date: 9/15/2011
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
TTSX 210 RL19 76gr 2940 f/s 0.6" at 100 yards
Submitted by: 338winmag
Date: 7/7/2011
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I've used the Barnes TSX on many deer,antelope and elk for the last few yrs. with awesome results. When the TTSX can a couple years ago I had to try it just for the B.C. gain. Well it has the same great results on game as the TSX as I suspected it would. Even a little more accurate. Shoots sub MOA all the time. Getting .276 to .380 groups out of my 300 RUM with max loads. So fare I've shot 1 bull elk, 4 buck beer from 75 to 225 yds. and 1 buck antelope at 443 yds.With the TTSX. All dropped in their tracks as always just like the TSX's have done. My son last year shot a buck deer at 155 yds. and a buck antelope at around 100 yds with a 7mm Rem Mag w/140 gr. TTSX and both dropped in their tracks. I know it's all about shot placement but I've seen many different bullets perform on animals but to date I can't beat the performance of the TSX and TTSX in accuracy and killing both.
Submitted by: WYO300RUM
Date: 5/6/2011
Rifle used: Rem Mod 700 SS
Caliber: 300 RUM
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Have started using the TTSX 120grn in my Ruger 260Rem. Shot a Red DeerSpiker at about 60 yards, the deer dropped on the spot. The deer was facing me, hit the deer just right of centre. The right should was smashed, one lung badly damaged and three ribs smashed. No exit wound so I thought the bullet was in the guts some where. Found the bullets four days later when cutting up the meat after ageing. Located in the rump. Perfect mushroom and weighed at 119grn Most impressed.
Submitted by: Denley
Date: 10/31/2010
Rifle used: Ruger M77 Mk2
Caliber: 260 rem
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
AMAZING bullet, i shoot the triple shock out of my 30 ultra mag (130 gr. boat tail)and the 120 gr. triple shock out of my 264 win mag. They both stop them in their tracks. But last year i bought a Savage 116 weather warrior in 7MM Mag, and the deer now really have something to fear! Sub one inch groups a 100 yds and sub 2 inch groups at 300 yds. I shot a 135 lb white tail last winter at 373 yds right behind the shoulder double lung and a complete pass through. 2 inch exit hole, 3472 FPS with the 120 grain Tipped Triple shock, 74 grains of H-4831SC. By far the most deadly combination for white tails. I will never shoot any other brand of bullet. Way to go Barnes!!!
Submitted by: Okiebuck
Date: 10/16/2010
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
This bullet is very impressive on paper, but from my experience the worst hunting bullet ever made. It all started a few weeks ago I took a 9 Yr old hunting for the first time for white-tail he placed a perfect shot right behind the shoulder, I was watching through the binoculars. The deer walked away hit hard, gave him a half hour or so to expire, we walked down thinking we were just going to load him up with very little tracking required. We never found a spot of blood or the deer. Well I started second guessing what I had seen. Until today it was my turn, I put one right behind the shoulder followed a very small blood trail 2 or 3 hundred yards i guess the search will continue tomorrow. I have never tracked a deer using Nosler BT, I will be swapping back.
Submitted by: colt 45
Date: 12/5/2009
Rifle used: 7mm rem mag
Caliber: .284
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Load correction for 270 Win.Barnes 110 gr. TTSX Should be 58 gr of IMR4350 not 56 gr
Submitted by: Dunc
Date: 11/17/2009
Rifle used: Sako AV
Caliber: 270 Win
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance: 2
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I am a life long hand loader. I hunt white tailed deer almost exclusively. In recent years I have used Hornady bullets and have been very satisfied with the performance. This year I thought I would try Barnes 110 gr TTSX in my 270 win. Shot a spike horned buck at about 175 yards. the bullet went through the base of the neck. The deer looked to be stone dead when it hit the ground.Low recoil,accurate,great! Win brass, 56gr of IMR4350, WinMag primers,COL 3.250
Submitted by: Dunc
Date: 11/16/2009
Rifle used: Sako AV
Caliber: .270 Win
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance: 2
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used the Barnes TTSX in several calibers now and am very impressed with it. Itís an extremely accurate bullet. I have been able to find loads that shoot under .5 MOA three shot groups in .25, .270, 7mm, .30 and .338 caliber rounds. I have taken everything from small Whitetails to an 1800lb Eland with them and they have worked flawlessly. I get either a complete pass through with good expansion or the bullet stops just inside the skin on the off side (this happens when heavy bone is hit) and both types of shots leave an incredible wound channel. The farthest that any animal has traveled was 30 yards and most just drop at the shot. I believe that the 168 grain .30 caliber TTSX is the greatest .30 bullet in the world. I use it in a .308 Winchester, .300 WSM and .300 Remington Ultra Mag and have killed small, medium and very large game with it. Even at close range on heavy game out of the .300 RUM the bullet maintained 99% of original weight. You will not regret giving this bullet a try.
Submitted by: Sandman
Date: 11/7/2009
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shot a 170lb wild hog at 70yds,Bullet hit right on point of shoulder,25cal hole going in 30cal hole going out,bullet did not open up.Hog droped in tracks.Going back to the tsx bullet,Have taken many hogs and deer with them,They will open up.
Submitted by: hogwacker
Date: 10/22/2009
Rifle used: 257 Weatherby mag mark v
Caliber: 25
Hunting performance: 3 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Will hold together at short range, but still expand. Excellent long range bullet. Excellent accuracy. Will expand better than regular tsx, has bigger hollow point behind polymer tip.
Submitted by: cwesterman
Date: 12/25/2008
Rifle used: Kimber 8400 Montan
Caliber: .270 wsm
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy