Quantcast
 
      
 
Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Register
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 Donations

Please help us keeping this
site running by your donation.
You can donate by all major
credit cards or phone, through PayPal,
Alertpay or by DaoPay



 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the Hornady Interlock bullet.
 
BULLET: 7mm Hornady SPBT Interlock 162gr RIFLE: 7MM REM MAG GAME: RED STAG approx 350-400 Lbs POINT OF IMPACT: Neck/Spine DISTANCE: 130 Yds RECOVERED WEIGHT: 60GRS, 45GRS LOAD VELOCITY: Approx 2850 fps @muzzle Shot a nice red stag last year. First (the bigger of the two recovered bullets) hit him in the spine and dropped him on the spot. When I ran up on him he was taking his last breaths, so I put another one into the base of the neck at point blank range. This second shot is the smaller of the two recovered bullets. While they did their job, and admittedly, spine shots are tough on bullets, but I'm not all that happy with the recovered weight of these two interlocks. The first shot was recovered weighing about 60grs, there was only a little bit of lead core that was recovered, which fell out of the jacket during while removing the blood and tissue from it. Second one still has some lead core. But is expanded all the way back to the boattailed shank. Recovered weight: 45grs. Averaging about one third weight retention.
Submitted by: Andre
Date: 7/31/2013
Rifle used: Savage 110
Caliber: 7MM Rem Mag
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 4
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used Hornady 87 grain V-max in the past and always was very satisfied with accuracy and performance out of my .243 Winchester. Deer hunting season 2010 was a memorable one. I loaded my .270 Winchester.. 130 grain SP, 60 grains of H4831. At 100 yards I was getting 1 inch or better, with the bullet touching the lands or minimum OAL. Performance on deer..Phenomenal. Shooting up hill about 300 yards, the bullet entered the boiler room and exited the spine. As I was butching the deer at home, I noticed the back strap had a gapping 5 inch hole and blood shot trail to it. No biggie, there wasn't any meat to be eaten along the way to the backstrap and I'm a raost myself. The funny thing was the hide wasn't tore up from the bullet, just a slight incision. I just wondering if this load/bullet(mainly the bullet) combo would work at shorter ranges.
Submitted by: Ralph From Jersey
Date: 7/27/2011
Rifle used: Savage 111
Caliber: .270 winchester
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
THE best hunting bullet I have ever used. My dad and I load 140grn Interlocks in our 260 Remingtons and they are moving about 2600fps out of our Browning A-Bolts. Dropped my first doe with this load a couple years ago. Shot was 203yrds on the range finder and I was about 50-60 ft above her. Bullet entered between the ribs, went through right lung, aorta, and left lung and exited out left side leaving a small exit wound and a half-moon on the rib. She hopped, ran about 15 feet, did a circle, dropped, kicked 2 or 3 times and it was over. From bang to dead was about 6 seconds. My dad loads 200grn Interlocks for his .338 Win Mag which are exiting his A-Bolt Medallion at 3000fps! His last bull elk he dropped with it was at 402yards and it dropped on the spot. When we cut him open the bottom half of the heart was gone and the bullet was in the chest cavity with beautiful expansion. On paper its VERY accurate for a non-match bullet. With my .260 the smallest group I was able to pull off was .504" at 100yrds. My dad (an ex-sniper) was able to pull .18" with his A-bolt with the same load. The .338 he was able to shoot .21"! I will never look to any other bullet for hunting! Interlocks do the job superbly with my .260 and his .338!
Submitted by: Spartikus47
Date: 6/5/2010
Rifle used: Browning A-Bolt Hunter/Medallion
Caliber: .260 Remington & .338 Win Mag
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I drew a cow moose tag last fall, and was excited to use my old Mauser K98 in 8X57. I have tried many bullets through this rifle with poor results. Accuracy I mean. These bullets consistently place three shot groups into a 3/4' grouping at 100 meters. Nice!! I modified the rifle to fit a pistol scope. The rear sight is replaced by a mounting base which I acquired from an internet sight. Can't remember the name. The bullet hit the moose right in the lung region, but I hadn't thought about the fact that I was shooting slightly uphill. The shot was about 165 meters away. The bullet entered, leaving a nickel sized hole in between the ribs, crossed over top of the lungs completely, and hit the base of the spine. The interlock bullet also sliced the main artery that runs along the base of the spine. The moose dropped, and died of internal bleeding. It probably didn't help that it couldn't stand back up due to paralysis. when I approached the moose it was dead. The one thing that concerned me about this particular bullet is how easily it mushroomed. I mean it mushroomed through the moose' fur! Probably a good choice for deer. The bullet however stayed intact long enough to hit the spine. All that matters!!
Submitted by: Greg
Date: 3/3/2009
Rifle used: K98 Mauser Circa 1937
Caliber: 8X57Js
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
The accuracy of this bullet is great, but I'm not sure how well it will be on deer size game at high velocities (above 3000 fps). I shot a deer with a load I had developed for my .257 Weatherby Magnum and the bullet did not exit the deer. I had shot the deer at 70 yds so the velocity would still have been very high. It shattered a rib on entrance and clipped the back bone. The internal damage to the deer was devastating, but it did not exit the deer. I thought it would have and was a little disappointed that it didn't. NOTE: The load had good accuracy (.7" group at 100 yds).
Submitted by: Red Coleman
Date: 1/16/2008
Rifle used: Weatherby Vanguard
Caliber: .257 Wby Magnum
Hunting performance: 3 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used the .257 100gr SP on over 40 game animals in my 257 wby @ 3600 FPS. No need to look any further, this bullet work very well on big Alberta deer, bear & antelope. Usally thye are mushroomed back to the interlock rig and weigh about 40% of starting weight. They usally drop game one the spot.
Submitted by: Paul K
Date: 11/6/2007
Rifle used: Weatherby
Caliber: 257 Wby Mag
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
without question the best bullet price and performance on the market,shoots like a match bullet and hits as hard as anything on the market.
Submitted by: pale face
Date: 11/5/2007
Rifle used: mauser
Caliber: 30-06
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Hornady has labeled this bullet as a "premium", I beg to differ. A 90 yd. shot to the shoulder of a Whitetail buck last fall resulted in a grenade-like fragmentation of the bullet, with virtually no penetration. I actually saw the large white flash due of the bone exploding through the scope, and the impacted leg dam near blown off. Took most of the day to recover that deer, I will NEVER use the Interlock bullet again, there are way better performers than these to be had.
Submitted by: Rainman
Date: 7/4/2007
Rifle used: Winchester
Caliber: .270
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
My rifle is a custom 98 in 338/06. I worked up a load of 63.5 gr reloder 19 which gave me 2650 fps. Had 3/4" groups at the range. I used this load hunting hogs in Florida. Made a going away shoot at 100 yrds hitting the hog in the pelvis totally shattering the bone and continuing throught the hog lodging in the front lung. The hog went down, trashed for several minutes and died. The bullet stayed together, but was near separation with perfect expansion. Excellent accuracy and performance.
Submitted by: Ron Woods
Date: 3/29/2007
Rifle used: Custom 98
Caliber: 338/06
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shot a whitetail buck at about 100 yds with 25 cal 100gr Interlock. Entered the shoulderblade and expanded but did not exit. This bullet is very accurate but could be fragile for larger game or sharp quartering shots on deer.
Submitted by: bigtime reloader
Date: 2/5/2007
Rifle used: Ruger M77 Mark II
Caliber: 25-06
Hunting performance: 4 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shoot a 180 grain hornady interlock, and it consistently groups uder 1/4 inch, often an unmeasurable 1 hole group at 110 yards. Let me say that i do find this quite remarkable. My gun is a Remington model 700 Stainless laminated. All I have done with it is put a muzzlebrake on it. I have not killed anything with it yet but it is the most accurate bullet I have ever fired out of any rifle.
Submitted by: cfvickers
Date: 10/25/2006
Rifle used: Model 700 Stainless
Caliber: .300 win mag
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I recently sighted in some factory ammo in the Hornady Custom, 30.06 180gr. Interlock bullet. I bought a new CZ-550 American in the spring and plan to use this for most of my fall hunting. The accuracy of this ammo was beyond what I expected. From a properly fouled, dead cold barrel this combo produced two bullets at .36" group directly vertical of my point of aim. The third shot measured a 1.3" group. I am not an advocate of 3 or 5 shot groups. I believe the most important shot is the first one. From a cold, fouled barrel, the first shot will be the one that counts the most in hunting conditions in the fall. And that's what I set my scope for. The second shot, if within a 1" to 2" group is just as important. I find a third shot tends to be a Hail Mary anyway on running game, which is usually is the case. The Hornady bullet has performed exceptionally well in all of the game that I have shot.
Submitted by: L Sayers, alberta
Date: 9/29/2006
Rifle used: BRNO
Caliber: 30.06
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Loaded some 150 grain .308 Interlock soft points for my dad for his new rifle. Used some IMR 4320, thinking i was using a cheaper powder and saving my expensive Hodgdon Varget for my SST's. Now I LOVE Varget, but when I got to the range the soft points were 1/4 to 1/2 inch tighter than the SST bullets. Since then I have found that with different powders both shoot very accurately and are great on deer sized game.
Submitted by: Father Sandman
Date: 3/2/2006
Rifle used: Remington 700P LTR
Caliber: .308
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
The general consensus running through all the posts is that the, Hornady interlocks performance is as good or better than the higher priced bonded bulets for a fraction of the cost.I could not have agreed more.Years back I stumbled upon a remington model 7 KS at gun show.I got the rifle for a steal because the original owner had it barreled for the 35 remington!!!.Scoped with a Burris straight 6x and stoked with 225 grain interlocks I have taken deer ,elk moose and bear all under the 150 yard mark.The bullets has never seperated and when recovered exhibited great expasion and high degree of weight retention.Results of the bench are also excellent.Like you say the best bet for the money.
Submitted by: Alberta Hunter
Date: 12/1/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Used the 162gr Boattail in my .280 on cow elk, black bear and several deer. All passed through. The .280 was handloaded at about 2940fps. It always went in, opened up and destroyed the vitals and upon exiting punched out with very little blood shot to the offside meat. All were one shot kills. At standard published velocities of the 7mm WSM, 7mm Rem Mag, or the 7mm Rem Short Mag my guess is that it would perform exceptionally well.
Submitted by: L. Sayers Canada
Date: 11/4/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
best bullet for the money in my experiance i have shot them all performance wise this bullet is good value wise it is superb 30 head of game so far and still counting in a .270 win and a .7mm rem mag textbook mushrooms and not a single head of game traveled more than 50 yards.i use the 140 bt. in my .270 and the 162 bt. in my 7-mag.i recover about 1 in 6 recovered w/lung shots when they dont exit the game drops i have killed deer,elk,bear,and antelope with these as well as several thousand rocks.i also like the 150 gr spire point in the .270 and the 139 bt. in the .7mm mag also check out my review on the winchster power point bullet .270 130 grain my pet loads are also listed for the .270 they are #9040 .585 m.o.a. #9041 .432 m.o.a. and for .7mm load #9049 162 gr. .373 m.o.a.
Submitted by: DON COMTON IDAHO
Date: 4/16/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I've shot several large elk with a 225 grain Interlock in a 338 Win Mag. Ranges were 150 to 275 yards. Have yet to recover a bullet and the exit wounds were 3 inches in diameter, all broadside shots. Have also shot deer and antelope with the same load. A little overkill, but terrific results. Very good performance for the price. With the more expensive bullets I find myself practicing less.
Submitted by: Nate
Date: 12/31/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have killed 5 whitetails with a 243 100 gr Hornady. Generally the bullet shows rapid expansion on close range shots producing quick kills with no exit wounds. One kill at 40 yards in the shoulder of a 150 lb buck hit the shoulder, turned up the neck and exited on the same side as the entrance. The buck went down but attempted to rise after about 1 minute. A vein in the neck had been cut and the deer had bled enough in this minute to be unable to get up. This bullet is very accurate. I would recommend it for animals under 150 lbs. For deer 150lbs and over at close range, dont depend on it to always penetrate the shoulder.
Submitted by: JKF
Date: 10/12/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Used these for years.In my experience % tests it does as good as the premium priced bullets, but at half the price.
Submitted by: Boyd
Date: 26.06.2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I put a 150 gr. Spire point Interlock through both of a whitetails shoulders at 25 yards(30.06) Recovered it just under the skin on the far side. A perfect with no core separaation. I have shot a Remington Core-Lokt the length of a deer's neck and into the upper chest with out hitting any bones and the core was nearly separated from the jacket. The Interlock is the best of the popularly priced bullets IMHO.
Submitted by: L. Good
Date: 19.04.2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy