Quantcast
 
      
 
Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Register
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 Donations

Please help us keeping this
site running by your donation.
You can donate by all major
credit cards or phone, through PayPal,
Alertpay or by DaoPay



 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the Hornady V-Max bullet.
 
I used to shoot only Sierra Match bullets for accuracy loads and varmitting. A friend suggested I try some Vmax for groundhogs, and I am amazed at their accuracy and the damage they do to a varmit. The 40 grainers at 3600'/sec from a 223 varmit rifle absolutely liquefies their insides.
Submitted by: Dan R
Date: 9/22/2009
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Love these for any varmint. Use them in my .222 savage 340d. Gun is older than I am and shoots great. Federal match primers, 23.6 grains IMR 4895, 50 grain V-max. once used brass. Kills em dead.
Submitted by: Jackchuck
Date: 7/26/2009
Rifle used: savage 340
Caliber: 222
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have worked up loads for my Ruger .243 with the 58 gr, 65 gr, and 75 gr V-maxes and they all group superbly. They all group very well out to 300 yds. I was amazed that even the tiny 58gr shot so good in my Ruger. I just punch holes in paper so I don't know how they perform terminally, but I do know they are consistently accurate.
Submitted by: Red
Date: 1/16/2008
Rifle used: Ruger M77
Caliber: .243
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use the 32gr V-Max exclusively in my 204 Ruger. I have shot dogs out to 400yds with my handloads. 28 gr of Benchmark, CCI SR Mag primer. Great for just about anything from a coyote down to a P dog.
Submitted by: Cliff
Date: 7/16/2007
Rifle used: Rem 700
Caliber: 204 Ruger
Hunting performance: 4 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use these 50g bullets for over 9 years now in my .222Rem Steyr-Mannlicher. They are very accurate, deliver clover-leaf accuracy on 100 metres and do perform very well on small varmint like crows and foxes.
Submitted by: Paul Tummers
Date: 5/22/2007
Rifle used: Steyr-Mannlicher
Caliber: .222Remington
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have not been reloading but for about 6 months. I started with a remington model 700 Bull Barrel .204. My buddy and I first started with 100+ rounds of store bought Hornady 32 gr. V-max ammo. The bullet performed great but consistancy in grouping was not there. Started to reload my own and now at 150 yards I have .250 groups even in wind. I use 29 grains of Hodgdon Benchmark in Winchester shell case with the 32 gr. V-Max. 4200 fps at 8 feet from the crono. Kills all small game animals in a flash of red. Cyotes and Foxes fall instantly and the pelts are great. Exit holes are about the size of a quarter and entrance is almost to small to see. This bullet is on the top of my list for all small game.
Submitted by: T. Green
Date: 11/19/2006
Rifle used: Rem Mod 700
Caliber: .204
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
i shoot a 6mm br with the 65 gr. v max.it is absolutly devastating on crows anywhere inside 300 yards,my longest shot so far, and the smallest group is a .143 5 shot @100yds. 31.7 gr. vv135 fed205 primer and rem brass. works like charm,although a bad charm for crows.
Submitted by: 6br man
Date: 11/17/2006
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shoot 110gn V-Max's out of my custom 300 SAUM and i have yet to have a bullet brake up even at 3775 fps (chronographed). And my buddy has tested them out of his 300 Ultra Mag and still no brake ups.Maybe if the speed gets over 4000fps in a .30 cal.
Submitted by: BJS
Date: 1/9/2006
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I haven't spent alot of time in the field yet with my new 204, and I know alot of people are sitting on the fence waiting for more reviews about the 204. I can only tell you this...I'm reloading my 204 with a 32 gr Hornady V-Max...30 grs WIN 748, and so far one coyote @ 230 yds frontal chest shot and one @ 350 yds behind the shoulder lung shot. Both performed with awesome results. Great on pelts!
Submitted by: BA
Date: 1/1/2006
Rifle used: NEF Handi Rifle
Caliber: 204 Ruger
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Super groups at the range, deadly on dogs in Wyoming. Seem to buck the wind very well.
Submitted by: Big Al
Date: 12/22/2005
Rifle used: Savage 10fple2a (26in.)
Caliber: .223
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
The 32 grs version is the only bullet I have shot out of my Tac-20. On targets at 100 yards I have not had any group of my good loads over .450.But out in the feild,the groundhog feilds, this is where the 20 cal.really is outstanding.With the weaver set at 24power,you can watch the small groundhogs just plain disentergrate!At300 yards when a chuck is hit there is a sound that signifies a hit that is very unique.Try em you will mothball all of your varmit rifles!
Submitted by: CRFrederick
Date: 12/3/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
In my .204 the .32 gn. bullets are not as accurate as the Serrias, but still sub moa. Do to it`s heaver construction it would be a better choice for coyote. The 40 gn. bullets are just not accurate enough that I would hunt with them.
Submitted by: Catfish
Date: 10/25/2005
Rifle used: CZ 527
Caliber: .204 Ruger
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shoot a 40gr. V-max out of my .220 Swift using 44gr. of H-380. I consistently shoot under the .3's with velocity at 4120 fps. It has been by far my favorite varmint load. There is nothing left after shooting prairie dogs and never an exit hole on coyottes.
Submitted by: Tim
Date: 1/1/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I bench shoot my .223 with the 40gr. Hornady V-Max with 28gr of Benchmark. Shoots consistent 1 hole cloverleaf groups at 100yds.
Submitted by: James Pekarek
Date: 11/16/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use these bullets in two configurations. One in my 17HMR and the other in my 25/06. In the 17HMR, the bullet is 17grns moving at 2600fps. Any crow or groundhog hit out to 200 yards is toast. Accuracy is great and I get complete bullet fragmentation at most reasonable ranges. In the '06, I use a 75grn bullet loaded with 56.5 grns of IMR 4350 and it sizzles at 3575fps. On groundhogs, the bullet will explode a nice portion of them and make them do flips in the air up to 10 feet. I blasted a pumpkin with them and the pumpkin exploded into two peices. Kills on 20oz soda bottles out to 300 yards is easy and even up to over 500 yards this bullet is very accurate. You will definately not want to use them on deer as the bullet explodes on impact, but I think it is the ultimate varmint bullet, exceeding and hollow point by far in destruction.
Submitted by: Hildy
Date: 10/10/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Have used exclusively in .223 and .22-250. In the .223, the 50 gr. and in the .22-250, the 55 gr. Both loaded to 3500 fps. Excellent. Always. Accurate, holds course even in stiff winds, out to 400 yards. . .
Submitted by: Jeff Roberts
Date: 10/9/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shooting the 75 Grain V-Max has given me confidence in my gun and ammunition. So far everything I have shot has dropped like a stone using the 75 Gr in .243Winchester with usually an exit wound the size of a tennis ball. On paper the 75Gr loaded with 43Gr of H380 in Lapua brass ignited by CCI BR-2 primer shoots sub .500. All this from a Sauer 202 Outback hunting rifle. Hornady V-Max is always on top of my shopping list when it comes to Vermin hunting bullets. The furthest shot I have taken out a Red fox is 245 Yards at night using a lamp.
Submitted by: SniperOliver
Date: 9/22/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I loaded the 110 gr. V max for my 300 WSM and found the bullets came apart around 3550-3600 fps (according to manuals). I am not saying it is a bad bullet, but for people wanting to push this bullet hard in the 30 cal, it is something to be aware of before loading/buying.
Submitted by: Wayne Haller
Date: 5/29/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I always been a big fan of the Nosler Ballistic Tip, but I thought that I would give the V-Max a try out of my .22-250 Rem. After a few test loads I was very impressed with the results I was getting. The 100 yrd. groups was tight and velocity was around 3700 fps. I took them on a coyote hunt the next morning. I took a coyote at 243 yards with amazing results. The exit wound was "baseball" sized, and the song dog had no other choice but to drop where he was standing. I was very impressed. If you have not tried this bullet it is worth trying.
Submitted by: J. Peters
Date: 5/21/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use the 50 Gr in my 22-250 over 36.0 gr IMR 4895 for 3810 FPS and one hole groups at 100 yds. This bullet is awsome !! The terminal performance is something to behold, but whats most important is the incredible accuracy. It shoots better than custom benchrest bullets!
Submitted by: Stan Stewart
Date: 2/3/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
The 87grn V-MAX from my 6mm-06,moving at 3520,is absolutely devastating on ground squirrels.At 100-200 yards,any squirrel within a foot of the one I shot,dies from the bone fragmets of the shot squirrel.I shot a ground squirrel at 638 yards and still blew it to pieces.I shoot sub 1/4" groups at 100 yards.
Submitted by: Varminator
Date: 1/26/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have found that the Hornady V-Max 50 grain .224 projectile is just the ticket for those of you that hunt furbearers with the intention of keeping the pelts. I have taken any number of yotes, fox, and a few lynx with this bullet and have had narry a problem with large exit holes marring the fur's value. I fire the V-max out of a 22.250 and keep the velocity @ 3,600 fps. I have found the V-Max to be more frangible than the Nosler ballistic tip. The accuracy is on par with groupings arriving at the 100 yard line showing 1/2" out of my sporter barrelled Ruger Mk.II.
Submitted by: bearhuntr
Date: 1/26/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Excellent bullet for shooting prairie dogs. The 55 grain in 22-250 is a great round for long range shooting. Extremely accurate and very violent impact on the praire poodles. This bullet has proven to be more accurate than any of the other 55 grain offerings. Also a good coyote and prairie dog round as a 75 grain in a 257 Roberts. Once again great accuracy.
Submitted by: Nate
Date: 12/31/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use this bullet in my Rem .220 Ackley Imp. the 50 grn version is superbly accurate( 100yrd group measured .25 and a 200 yrd group under .75 (handloaded of course))this is deadly explosive on prairie dogs and will shoot as far as you can shoot it.(although the 60 grn version because of its longer profile will group better at extreme distances, 600 yrds+) i have pushed this bullet(50 grn) to a vel of 4367(chorny 10 ft off the muzzel)my prairie dog loads run around 4200 fps. cant do that with just any bullet.PINK MIST AND BONE CHIPS.
Submitted by: Bogiegogetum
Date: 12/12/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
65 gr. Hornady V-Max from my 6mm. BR is extremely accurate and explosive on crows out to 300 yds. it's a wonderful bullet
Submitted by: hpk
Date: 11/6/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Superbly accurate in everything from .223 to hot .300 Weatherby Mag loads. Instant, violent expansion every time. Never any ricochets, despite shooting thousands of them. In 50+ years of shooting varmints, these and the Nosler Ballistic Tip Varmint bullets are the best varmint bullets available. Highly varied results with the Speer TNT's.
Submitted by: GCG
Date: 9/19/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy