Quantcast
 
      
 
Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Register
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 Donations

Please help us keeping this
site running by your donation.
You can donate by all major
credit cards or phone, through PayPal,
Alertpay or by DaoPay



 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the Nosler Ballistic Tip bullet.
 
I used this bullet for several years for deer because it shot so well in my Rem 760. Last year I hit a medium sized mule deer in the upper humerus (deltoid process for you anatomists) at about 200 yds and it failed to penetrate into the chest to put him down. It took two more rounds to stop him. At that point I decided that I needed a heavier bullet so I went to the 180gr Accu-Bond. The last 3 deer I shot in the shoulders with the Accubond went DRT (down right there).
Submitted by: T. Wood
Date: 10/12/2014
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Dropped a 125 lb pronghorn buck @ 280yds with a 100gr bt in Black Hills Gold 3200fps factory load in New Mexico. Impact under rt shoulder broke upper front leg and destroyed both upper lungs. No exit wound. Surprisingly, goat moved 10-15 yds before folding and was still alive but down and fading fast when I got up to him. Finished the job with speer 87gr hand load @ close range. Lungs were jelly. Goat age est was 2-3 years old. Note: I am astounded with the stories of overgunned hunting for deer, antelope and varments. Why not use a bazooa??
Submitted by: WmC
Date: 9/21/2012
Rifle used: Mauser 98 custom
Caliber: 25-06
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Used the 70gr and 80gr 6mm BTs in my 240 Laser (6mm X 280 with shoulder moved forward .250 and changed to 40 degrees)with a 1-7 twist barrel. At 4,100 fps the 70gr BT would hold together, is very accurate and explosive on a yote out to 500, just leaving parts closer in. The gun was built to shoot ground squirrels with and is a red mister of the first order.
Submitted by: Ed
Date: 4/17/2012
Rifle used: Pre 64 M-70 w 30 inch Kreiger Bbl
Caliber: 240 Laser (6mm x 280 +)
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
345, 220, 195 yards full penetration of elk, and at 6' full-very full- penetration of black bear, 15 deer that I never had to track. Coyotes go backwards in time, and accuracy is better than 1 moa in my 270 and 300 win mag. 165gr in 308, 140 in 270. You can keep the all copper drill bits. This is the serious bullet.
Submitted by: Big Jake Duke
Date: 11/17/2010
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Im using a 115 gr ballistic. 3 animals all one shot kills. 2 antelopes and a mulie at ranges of 300-450 yds. bullet performed excellent. holds a 5/8" group @ 200yds. may try a partition next year.
Submitted by: mark308
Date: 11/15/2010
Rifle used: custom mauser
Caliber: 25-06 ackley
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have been using 100 gr. BT for years in a Ruger 77 and a Rem. 700 on Pronghorns and Whitetails. I have never had any kind of bullet failure at any distance. On a recent Pronghorn hunt, it accounted for 2 bucks, both with destroyed lungs and good sized exit wounds.
Submitted by: jcn
Date: 10/14/2010
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I currently shoot 165g Nosler ballistic tips in my 300 win mag. I use that load for deer and never chased a deer, they ALL drop dead in there tracks even with an accidental gut shot! Ive killed 6 deer with this load 10-150 yards. My load- win virgin brass, 72g 4831, 165 nosler ballistic tip bullets 3200fps = 0.5 inch groups.
Submitted by: Rick
Date: 2/14/2010
Rifle used: Remington 700 LSS
Caliber: 300 win mag
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Ruger MK II VT in 308, 165 grain ballistic tip, shooting 4 inches or less @ 350 yards. 7mm WSM 140 grain one shot kill whitetail doe 35 yards, massive lung damage and bleeding. Excellent accuracy for me and a dependeable killer on deer and smaller if not shooting into bone (shoulder). Very deadly in my 22-250 AI explosive results on varmints.
Submitted by: Coyote50
Date: 12/28/2009
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I wrote a review where I was not overly keen on the green tipped 30 cal. for my 30-06. I have since gone back to BT for deer with my 7MM Mag. - much cheaper,just as accurate in my gun and a lot less walking after dead deer that want to run until they run out of blood (when shot with TSX). I would still recommend TSX for Moose and Elk where your looking for deep penetration but for deer this is my "go-to-bullet".
Submitted by: TK
Date: 11/22/2009
Rifle used:
Caliber: 7MM
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I really want to like this bullet and it is VERY accurate and cheap, but it is very inconsistent on game. I have had zero expansion with 150 grain .30 bullets on whitetails. I have also had explosive expansion on the same game with same shot placement and same bullet. I have used 180 grain .30 bullets that are supposed to be rated for Elk on a 200lb hog and it did not give me a pass through on a broad side shot. I know there are a lot of people out there that swear by this bullet, but Iím convinced that it is just a matter of time before they have a bad experience with them.
Submitted by: Sandman
Date: 11/8/2009
Rifle used: Browning A-Bolt SS
Caliber: .300 WSM
Hunting performance: 2 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I bought 1000 of these before a sage rat varmint hunt in Oregon this spring. I also had the 26 gr Barnes Varmint Grenades and the 32 gr Hornady V-max bullets. The Hornady and Nosler are nearly equal, but I'd give the Nosler a slight edge. I like the boat tail design on any rifle bullet. Accuracy and terminal ballistics were impressive.
Submitted by: ten2six
Date: 10/26/2009
Rifle used: Remington 700 LVSF
Caliber: .204 Ruger
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I evaluated Nosler 165 grain ballistic tips in a Rem. 700 BDL 30-06. This rifle had a long leade and I couldn't get the projectile seated out to the lands and keep it in the case. I think probably because of this, accuracy was mediocre. I expect that if this secant projectile could be seated to be close to or at the lands that groups would tighten up. Thought about going to 180's but decided to test first...read on. Before shooting anything at big game, it gets tested out on jack rabbits. I expect a big game projectile to "punch a hole and keep going". This Nosler BT acted like a varmint projectile and just exploded them. Every one. Not what I want in a BG projectile that might have to penetrate to vitals. My opinion is that this projectile was ahead of its time. Were I ever to consider shooting one of these Nosler BT types at big game again, it would be a bonded version, so the expansion would be controlled instead of explosive.
Submitted by: Dennis Buck
Date: 3/29/2009
Rifle used: Rem 700 BDL 22"
Caliber: 30-06
Hunting performance: 2 Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used the Nosler Ballistic Tip bullet in my 30-06, my 300win Mag, and in my 25-06 for the last 10 years, and in my .308 for around 15 years. The 180gr. ballistic tip in my 30-06, and in two other shooter's rifles averages less than .7in. at 100 yds, with a velocity of 2725fps. We have all killed large whitetails here in Kansas successfully for the last 8 years at ranges from 40 yds to 450+ yards without any sign of bullet failure, and around an 80% dRT ratio. When they're not DRT, we nearly always have a good blood trail, due to the bullet having penetrated and exited the deer. Lost deer are the result of bad shot placement with this bullet. I haven't had them fail.
Submitted by: Elton Green
Date: 3/7/2009
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shoot these out of my .223 Remington 700. They consistently shoot 3/4" or less groupings at 100 meters. These bullets blow up gophers quite well. I also shot two coyotes last summer. The first was about 80 meters and dropped dead in it's tracks. The bullet destroyed the lungs. The second one was about 75 meters away and it just dropped on the spot. When I got to it, the coyote was down in a kind of in a sitting position.. It didn't even fall over to it's side. It was dead so fast that it couldn't even run away. Great little bullets!!
Submitted by: Greg
Date: 3/3/2009
Rifle used: Remington SPS Model 700
Caliber: .223
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Use B.T. in my 264 win mag and my 243. Have used since they came on market. 264 shoots at 3450fps.with 120 gr. bullet 243 shoots at 3520 with 100 gr. bullet. Never shhot behid shoulder even out to 200 yds. so no worry about meat damage. All shots were instant kills which I think is paramount for any hunter. For big game the partition base is better at lest for my 264.
Submitted by: Brian Bettis
Date: 11/1/2008
Rifle used: Win. Mod 70 pre '64
Caliber: 264 win mag & 243
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I've been using a 120 grain Nosler BT in a 264 win with a muzzle velocity of 3265FPS, very accurate, but frags at ranges of under 200 yds causing HUGE damage. All deer hit were bang flop with 3" exit holes under 200 yds. I believe that Nosler only rates this bullet for velocities of 3000FPS or less because of the frag charateristic.
Submitted by: CrazyCanuck
Date: 5/5/2008
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used Ballistic Tips for years on everything from whitetails to greater kudu and everything in between. They ALWAYS performed outstanding. I only had one animal that didn't die on the spot. That said, I would not use them for bears or other dangerous heavy game. Accuracy was great too with 3/8 inch 5 shot groups at 100 yards with 180 gr out of a Remington 700 in 300 Wby mag.
Submitted by: kudu40
Date: 4/8/2008
Rifle used: Remington 700
Caliber: 300 Weatherby mag
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
on October 5th 2007 I finaly got a chance to use a load a friend and i had worked up. It was a 165 grain Nosler BT hunter (green tip) out of a 300 rem ultra mag at around 3300 Fps. The antalope offered me a slightly quartering away shot at 286 yards so i took it , the shot was textbook and the antalope was DRT, uppon investigation i found a small entrence hole in the ribs and a 1 1/2 inch exit hole that clipped the far shoulderblade. Im pleased to report there was minimal meat loss and no obviouse bullett fragmentation found .
Submitted by: highdesert81@aol.com
Date: 10/8/2007
Rifle used: remington 700 pss
Caliber: 300 rem ultra mag
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I hunt and reside in Saskatchewan Canada, and I've been using 140 grain nosler ballistic tip bullets in my 7mm remingtion sendero for the past 10 years. I use 69 grains of RL22 with a federal 215 match primer. Accuracy is outstanding! 1/2 - 3/4 inch groups are the norm. I've taken several large trophy bucks with nice rack's "over 200 lbs" beyond 500 yards. I shot one @ 718 yards. They dropped like a bolt of lightning struck them! The few shots I've had inside 100yds pretty much tore the lungs out. I'm not a big fan of eating deer lungs and ribs anyway. If I were living back east in Nova Scotia where shots are much closer "100yds or so" I would probably use my Ruger 25-06 with 115 ballistic tips. They seem to knock things down with authority as well at closer ranges.
Submitted by: C.B. Parsons
Date: 9/26/2007
Rifle used: Remington Sendero
Caliber: 7mm Magnum
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Very accurate bullet but in my 30-06 simply to much damage on inpact. Hit a nice Alberta Whitetail buck in the boiler room a few years back and could of nearly stuck both my fists in the exit hole.
Submitted by: TK
Date: 3/1/2007
Rifle used: model 700
Caliber: 30-06
Hunting performance: 3 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I live in New Zealand and have used Ballistic tips in a .25/06 and more recently a 7mm/08. With the .25/06 I shot over 150 wild goats at ranges out to 570yds. Still give spectacular kills even at that range. I like a quick expanding bullet and don't mind if it comes apart a bit, the more damage the better. I'd rather have a shot up dead animal than an intact wounded one that I can't find! I would not use ballistic tips on heavy game though. But for thin skinned medium game they are excellent. Have shot a few Red deer and Himalayan Tahr with the same results too. Alot of people place too much importance of a bullet staying together. A quick expanding bullet transfers a lot of shock and importantly gives a good visual indication of a hit to the shooter.
Submitted by: lazercft
Date: 2/2/2007
Rifle used: Rem 700
Caliber: 7mm/08
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I first loaded Nosler BT back when they were sold in boxes of 100. I loaded 130gr in 270 win.These bullets were very accurate in any rifle I tried them in, but came apart badly , at times in white tailed dear with extensive meat damage.( always a very dead dear)The boxes were then reduced to 50 a box like a pemium GAME bullet.I have heard that Nosler has stiffened up this bullet but I don't know if this is a fact. I now use Hornady SST. Great bullet for white tails.
Submitted by: Dunc
Date: 10/22/2006
Rifle used: Brno Deluxe
Caliber: 270 win.
Hunting performance: 3 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Outstanding performance on small south alabama white tails (140lbs). Lung shot on 7 point dropped him in his tracks. Lung tissue and blood could be seen coming out the backside on impact..
Submitted by: soxpatch2
Date: 7/11/2006
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
i have been using 85gn nosler balistic tip projctiles in my 303-25 smle for the past 2 years ,at just over 3000 fps i get complete penetration on everything from every angle,average weight of game is about 80-160 pound, and this includes feral goats ,pigs, foxes hares and rabbits, am yet to shoot a deer with them but i expect the usual bang, thud, dead result that i usualy get. happy hunting.
Submitted by: 303 nut
Date: 7/5/2006
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
An excellent deer bullet in my 25/06 with the 100 grainer. Extremely accurate, rapid expansion, and minimal recoil.
Submitted by: Logan
Date: 3/23/2006
Rifle used: Savage M110
Caliber: .25/06
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shot a spike at 75 yards with factory 70 grain bullet in a Remington .243. He jumped three feet straight up and was dead before he hit the groud. Amazing! After 15 minutes of inspection, I found no exit wound and NO ENTRANCE wound. Not a drop of blood anywhere. During field dressing I discovered that the bullet had hit the deer right in the heart and fragmented dramatically. There was basically no heart left. i am used to pulling out a softball to canteloupe sized heart depending on the size of the buck. All I found in this particular deer was mush. No damage to the meat at all. Shot placement is crucial, though. A poorly placed shot will destroy the meat, or make for a long day or night of tracking a wounded animal. After testing the bullet on the bench in .30 caliber (.308 and 30-06) I found that the core of the bullets repeatedly seperate from the jacket, and weight retention is poor. good for small to medium game, but not ideal for larger animals.
Submitted by: Father Sandman
Date: 3/2/2006
Rifle used: Remington 700
Caliber: .243
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use the nosler ballistic tip in a 358 norma mag. I'm pushing it about 2850fps. any thing within 75yds. the bullet desinergrates. passed 75 it works great i shot a 135lb doe this year at 198yds and entrance was the size of a nickle exit was like a baseball she went 20yds. my groups at 100yds are .421-.771 depending on the shooter. i wish they made the accubond in my caliber. nosler said maybe in 2006.
Submitted by: snuffer358
Date: 1/3/2006
Rifle used: Sako
Caliber: 358 norma mag
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I handloaded 180 Grain Nosler Ballistic Tips for a southeast Alaska Mountain Goat hunt last year. WRONG MOVE. These rounds were loaded for Kimber Montana in 300 Winchester Short Magnum. The bullets were seated on top of 65 grains of H4350, giving them a muzzle velocity of 2842 fps. I shot my goat at 330 yards at a downhill angle, striking it through the rear of the shoulder at a very slight quartering away angle. The bullet DISINTEGRATED ON THE HIDE, LEAVING THE GREEN BALLISTIC TIP IN THE GOAT'S HAIR...NEAR THE ENTRANCE WOUND, and pulling through a plug of hair as thick as your little finger. After field dressing, the biggest piece of bullet I could find was the jacket cup. Small fragments peppered the lungs, and that's it. Luckily for me, the goat tried to pull itself up hill (instead of down hill) for about 20 feet before expiring...had there been a cliff nearby, I would have been rappelling for my dinner. I'll be using an Accu-Bond on my next trip. This bullet is for groundhogs and marmots only.
Submitted by: Entry_1
Date: 1/3/2006
Rifle used: Kimber Montana 8400
Caliber: .300 WSM
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I've used the Ballistic tip for over 15 years on every type of deer in the UK, and it has never let me down. Compred to other types of bullet available I would always recomend NOSLER Ballistic Tip as the polycarb' tip give protection in the magazine and a high bullet coefficient. Accuracy is first rate (.75" @100 yds) & Results are excellent on deer to the size of red stags. I have looked at the new boded core Accubonds but don't feel they offer any advantage over the BT's in any way until you get to Elk or larger game. Best there is in my view !!
Submitted by: DAW
Date: 1/1/2006
Rifle used: Parker - Hale
Caliber: .270 win
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I loaded 55 gr NBT's in my 243 for coyotes. Great energy, great speed! I'm disappointed with the accuracy though. However, I haven't fooled around with different powders. I'm kind of a WINCHESTER ball powder fan. Really puts dogs down though! With little damage!
Submitted by: BA
Date: 1/1/2006
Rifle used: NEF Handi Rifle
Caliber: 243
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 2
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I've had good luck with the 55 gr NBT in my 22-250 (2 shots, 2 wolves) However, I've had poor luck with the 40 gr NBT with my 223 for coyotes. With regards to the 40 gr NBT's in my 223 I find if shot placement isn't precise I get runners. AS FOR THE 22-250 great one shot kills with 38 grs WIN 760.
Submitted by: BA
Date: 1/1/2006
Rifle used: ParkerHale
Caliber: 22-250
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
The nosler ballistic tip is a good bullet if loaded below 2950 ft per second. if loaded above that bettet seperates i have shot many rifles and had same results 165 gr and heavier are good to same fps, they shoot good on paper but would not say they are good for all around game there are many other good bullets out there to choose from. premium bullets were made for hunting ballistic tips were made for punching paper ask the pros, it is stated in just about every major magazine. lost the largest south texas whitetail to a nosler ballistis tip i wont shoot them again except for varmits or paper
Submitted by: bowbroadhead
Date: 12/27/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shot many deer with nos. bt. ------150 gr. 30-06 40 yds made no exit bullet disintgrated--257 rob nos bt 40 yds from treestand hit behind shoulder bullet disintegrated and ran down the rib cage frags exited brisquit---30.06 150 bt broadside jacket seperated no exit... all deer recovered with some effort and luck have had absolutly no problems with nosler partitions on game at anytime stick with partitions on anything larger than varmints
Submitted by: dan boyle
Date: 12/24/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have had less than favorable results with the Ballistic Tip bullet. I shot whitet tail deer with the bullet. Tracked them all over 1/2 mile. I shoot a 7 mm rem ultra mag. The 140 grain ballistic tip acts more like an explosive bullet than a hunting bullet in deer from this rifle. They separate on impact with the shoulder blade. Very little damage behind shoulder blade. Never achieved exit wound. Retired ballistic tip in favor of Barnes X.
Submitted by: Georgia
Date: 11/16/2005
Rifle used: 700 custom
Caliber: 7mm ultra mag
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
i'm shooting a sako 358 norma mag with the 225 bt boattail and pushing it about 2850fps.at 100 yds. my group measured .421 3shot group. my longest shot was about 182yds and the deer dropped in its tracks.devestating results. will keep using them. thanks. 358 magnum nut lover
Submitted by: s. scott. mississippi
Date: 11/10/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have been using the Nosler BT in a variety of calibers for years. The bullet has taken at least 15 whitetails for me. Unfortunately, I had an extremely bad experience last season. At 80yds I shot a buck quartering toward me. The deer ran closer to me at 25yds. after being hit and stopped. I watched him for a moment expecting him to drop. He didn,t and took off full tilt. I had to shot him again. I found out what the problem was when I was gutting him. The first BT bullet completely seperated. I found the copper jacket, with no lead inside it, rolling around in his chest. The lead core had disintigrated into tiny fragments, which I also found inside the chest. There was no exit wound and no evidence of any damage on the exit side. The bullet was a complete failure. The deer was not bleeding from the first wound nad would have been difficult to recover without the second shot. Not Good!
Submitted by: Painless
Date: 11/3/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
A devastating one-shot killer of big game, from antelope to bull moose. I've killed many elk (in their tracks) with one shot using 180 gr. Nosler Ballistic Tip bullets. Also, I get 0.5" five-shot groups with this bullet at 100 yds. and with full-bore - hot - loads. I haven't found another bullet on the market that will do that, and I've tried them all. The Nosler Ballistic Tip is the best long-range big game hunting bullet you can buy.
Submitted by: Southern California Sportsman
Date: 9/4/2005
Rifle used: Rem. 700
Caliber: 30-06
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
BEST big-game bullet I've ever used. They are SPECULAR at dropping big-game animals in their tracks with one shot (of course, if the animals are hit in the vital chest area). Mid neck and headshots also work very well, but then all bullets would do that. Also, they have very high ballistic coefficients and are the most accurate premium-hunting bullet you can buy. This makes them the very best of LONG-RANGE hunting bullets. Other so-called premium bullets often don't open up and spear through the chest without causing much tissue damage and/or dropping the animal. The latter is especially true for the solid copper bullets, but the Nosler partitions are not as bad. These super hard bullets will allow the animals to run 100-200 yards before collapsing. If it happens in heavy timber, your animal is lost. Super hard bullets are not needed for USA hunting, maybe for shooting rhinos, elephants, and cap buffalo, but not USA big-game.
Submitted by: Longtime Wyoming Hunter
Date: 9/4/2005
Rifle used: Custom Design
Caliber: 300 WM
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
For the last three years I have contracted to take 40 nuisance whitetail doe in NY, on farmland where they are devestating crops. Due to certain restrictions, i have been limited to shooting at night, with the longests shots under 200 yards. I have been using a 55 gr NBT at @ 3600 fps in a 220 swift. I have made multiple head shots (instant death) and numerous carefully placed chest shots. All head shots died right there. 9 chest shots resulted in death within 3 long jumps. 1 large doe ran 35 yards and piled up. Every one was recovered and the wound channel examined. All were devestating. Due to a friend who felt the 220 was "too light" I tried a 308. After several hits in chests with hunting bullets, and deer that ran 50 -60 yards, I went back to the 55 gr NBT and my Swift. For this specialized job, the NBT is perfect.
Submitted by: Game cop
Date: 8/12/2005
Rifle used: Heavy bench
Caliber: 220 Swift
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Have used the .224 40 gr. Ballistic Tip in my old .222 Rem. BSA sporter. This bullet, driven to 3590 fps in this rifle, gives the old .222 a new lease on life, extending the effective range of this cartridge by perhaps 50 yards over most available 50 gr. bullets. It's extremely effective at .222 velocities, very accurate and explosive. First chuck I shot with it was 311 yards out, instant kill, and the bullet didn't exit.
Submitted by: jtm
Date: 8/10/2005
Rifle used: BSA, 23" bbl.
Caliber: .222 Remington
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use 40 grain ballistic tips out of my 223 for minimum pelt damage, have had no bullets go through, works great on wood chucks and groundsquirells. I shoot .5 inch group at one hundred yards.
Submitted by: tom hopwood
Date: 7/10/2005
Rifle used: H and R ultra varmit
Caliber: .223 remington
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Put four of these (165 grs), loaded to 2640 fps in a 20" Ruger M77 Ultra-light, through a large caribou bull at 185 yards. Impact velocity probably around 2200 fps. All four went into a five-inch group, all exited, leaving two separate, gaping exit holes. The entire upper lung area was devastated. The first doubtless would have done the job, but I kept shooting as long as he stood. No sign of core-jacket separation, though we didn't spend a lot of time looking for fragments. Later in the day a companion borrowed the same rifle to score a one-shot kill on another bull at 80 yards. In this instance both shoulders were broken, the bull hitting the ground so hard he bounced. The bullet didn't exit but wasn't recovered for examination. At these modest .308 velocities this projectile seemed to perform very well.
Submitted by: jtm
Date: 4/14/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shoot the 50gr Nosler BT out of my 22-250 with outstanding results at about 3650fps. Bullet weights and lengths are very consistant conpared to Hornady V-Max's, and it shows downrange. Sub-1/2MOA groups are not uncommon with a good load workup, and they will turn a groundhog inside-out at 200 yards every time. I'd like to see how they work on summer coyotes (when pelt damage isn't a concern)!
Submitted by: Mike V.
Date: 3/7/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used these bullets in 22-250, .243 Win., 7mm-08, .308, .300 Win. Mag., 338 Win. Mag, and 35 Whelen. I load all my ammo to shoot at 2900 fps except the 35 and it's at 2600 with the 225 gr. Excellent accuracy, excellent penetration, and meat damage is minimal. For those complaining about meat loss try slowing your load down. These bullets are not meant for maximum velocity at shorter range. I have used Nosler BT since their inception and have taken over 50 animals with excellent results. There are better bullets on the market with the new interbond's but the difference in price is not justifiable.
Submitted by: L. Haney
Date: 1/18/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used these bullets in 22-250, .243 Win., 7mm-08, .308, .300 Win. Mag., 338 Win. Mag, and 35 Whelen. I load all my ammo to shoot at 2900 fps except the 35 and it's at 2600 with the 225 gr. Excellent accuracy, excellent penetration, and meat damage is minimal. For those complaining about meat loss try slowing your load down. These bullets are not meant for maximum velocity at shorter range. I have used Nosler BT since their inception and have taken over 50 animals with excellent results. There are better bullets on the market with the new interbond's but the difference in price is not justifiable.
Submitted by: L. Haney
Date: 1/18/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used the Ballistic Tip in my 7mmRM as a hunting bullet and am very satisfied. I prefer lungshots and have had complete penetration without excessive meat damage. Accuracy is first class as well.
Submitted by: Georg
Date: 12/24/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Somebody wrote about the excessive meat damage that these bullets inflict,and I could not agree more.Iam shooting a 115grain blue tipped frag bomb out of my 257 roberts.I purposley loaded these about 200-250 feet per second slower than the max load of 3000 hoping to control the hydro-static shock and control the bullet expansion to some degree,all these measures have done little in the prevention of shot up venison.I think they make good varmit round and maybe antelope were a quick is needed but I wont use them for deer again,and any thing bigger is just out of the question.Bring back the solid base!!!
Submitted by: alberta hunter
Date: 12/1/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
A few people I talk to, I'm a taxidermist, don't care for the explosive devastation of this bullet. But I say...when its dead its dead...who cares about recovering the bullet intact. I have shot numerous caribou, antelope and deer with this bullet....ranging from a 243 to a 30 caliber...it just kills them..and dead is dead and with this bullet it is extremely a quick death...no ands or ifs about it
Submitted by: JOC III
Date: 10/18/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
180 gr Ballistic Tip: I live in Sask & I have shot 4 whitetails & 1 Mule Deer with these bullets & every time i have had the jacket separate from the core: I shoot it at 3203fps & it puts the animal down in its tracks but the bullet will not withstand that type of velocity & will never exit the animal: My mule was shot at about 45 yds & the bullet did not exit but the animal went 3 feet sideways on its way down :
Submitted by: Wes S
Date: 10/17/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Accuracy excellent in my 25-06. I used them on a 180 lb whitetail buck, and he ran about 60 yards. Bullet fragmented inside the rib cage. Acted like he didn't even know he'd been hit. Won't use again for deer. Both lungs mush, terribly bloodshot, but I see no reason to use these on deer when partitions are available.
Submitted by: Kansas Ed
Date: 9/7/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I used this bullet in .308 cal. mainly in 30-06. I introduced this bullet to my friends and Father. Some will use no other bullet, now. My Dad says "it works too good!". "It opened er up like a can opener!".
Submitted by: thall
Date: 8/15/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use these in my 6.5/06 7mm08 and 260 rem. I love them. Have killed over 12 whitetails with them. None took more than two steps. Looked like you put a grenade in side them when you field dressed the animal. Would not use on anything above whitetails. Most devistating round I have ever killed a deer with and I have killed over 35. No exit wounds true but with chest placement they don't go any where. (I reload these so they are hotter than facotry ammo)
Submitted by: A. Thompson
Date: 7/19/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I load a .223 reminton with IMR 4064. With the 55 grain it is simply the best for: ground hogs,rabbits, muskrats,...ect.If I point it at game thats were it's going to hit. I sware by it never at it.
Submitted by: Cameron Molt
Date: 4/28/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have been reloading and using this bullet ahead of 63 grs of IMR 4350 for many years on game the size of Himalayan Ibex,Markhore and Urial sheep with satisfying results
Submitted by: J. Umer
Date: 3/24/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use Ballistic Tip in My 270 Win. 22" Barrel ( 55 gr. IMR 4350 powder BR 2 Primers Norma Cases )2900 Ft.per.velocity. I have shot whitetail deer from 50 to 250 yds. and they drop like they were hit by lighting.once in a while one will go maybe 30 to 60 yds.
Submitted by: Andy
Date: 2/14/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shoot the Nosler Ballistic Tip in every gun I own. From taking turkey & coyotes with the .222 Rem. To deer & bears with the .300 Win. Mag. Most everything I've shot with a Ballistic Tip bullet has dropped where they were standing the other few fell within 10 to 20 yards from where they was first hit. In my book, there are two kinds of bullets. The Nosler Ballistic Tip and there is the rest of them.
Submitted by: J. Peters
Date: 1/25/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I HAVE USED THESE BULLETS ON NORTHERN WHITETAILS THAT AVERAGED 150 LBS (DRESSED WEIGHT) IN BOTH MY 7X57 RIFLE,7 MM REM MAG RIFLE AND MY T/C ENCORE 7MM-08 HANDGUN . SHOTS RANGED FROM 100 YARDS (7X57) TO 265 YARDS (7MM-08 HANDGUN !!)AND THE BULLET PERFORMANCE WAS ALWAYS SPECTACULAR!! NOW I USE THE 140 GRAINERS FOR EVERYTHING FROM MY 7MM TCU AND WATERS HANDGUNS , ALL THE WAY UP TO MY 7MM STW !!.....MAKES LIFE MUCH SIMPLER !!!
Submitted by: COONS CUSTOM RIFLES
Date: 1/13/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I used Nosler's 150 gr Ballistic tips in my Rem 30-06 to take 220lb whitetail. The shot was about forty yards, and almost straight on in the chest. The bullet entered the chest and exited just behind the front shoulder (shoulder completely destroyed) The deer only made a few steps and was DOA. Perhaps the meat damage was too extensive for some, but the way i see it, their are not varying degrees of dead when hunting trophies. Accuracy is great and no tracking skills are needed when using this bullet.
Submitted by: brian freeman
Date: 1/12/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shot 4 whitetail this season with the 165 grain Nosler Ballistic green tip in 30-06 cal. 2 deer were shot in the shoulder and did not move an inch. 2 deer were shot behind the shoulder and went about 15 yards. All bullets exited. Very pleased with the performance, although I would perhaps move to a more sturdy bullet for bigger game.
Submitted by: Arjun Reddy
Date: 1/6/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shot several whitetail deer with 180 grain Nosler Ballistic Tip at approximately 2750 fps in 30-06. All were broadside shots at ranges of 15 -100 yards. While the bullet was superbly accurate in my Ruger M-77 rifle, I stopped using the bullet because meat damage was very excessive in all animals. Even when hits were at lung or heart areas, damage was done to front shoulders, rib cages, and bachstraps. Too much meat was wasted. I sent Nosler some recovered bullets and they wrote back to suggest I try Nosler Partitions, which I did. If I ever hunt in area where shots will be at long range, I will use the Ballistic Tips, but at short range I will stick to Partitions or Hornaday Interlocks.
Submitted by: A.W. Fuller
Date: 1/5/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shot 4 whitetails this year with 120 gr. bullets in my 6.5x55 Swedish Mauser and only one didn't drop on the spot. my only complaint was fragmentation and no exit hole on the one deer that ran, but other than that they perform very well and are extremely accurate.
Submitted by: JCP
Date: 1/4/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
These bullets are amazing. The 125gr out of my .308win is an awsome combination woodchucks are split in half and you have to look for the pieces on crows.
Submitted by: Brian
Date: 12/11/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
308 Federal Premium Ammo 150gr (green tips) I've shot two deer this year with the NBT's with good results in both cases (both were good shots though). The first deer was hit in the lungs, and fell over dead. Extensive damage in the chest cavity (shot within 50 yards). The second deer I shot right in front of its ear. The bullet took the back of its head off (it was also quite dead). The bullets seem to work pretty well so far, but it will be curious to see what they do when I make a bad shot.
Submitted by: Andrew
Date: 12/7/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Put behind 38.5gr of varget in my 220 swift not bad watchin bunnies explode; accurate enough that ill always be keepin afew in the inventory
Submitted by: nick windsor
Date: 11/20/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Im shooting the140 gr nosler bt in my custom 7mm stw mv is approx.3550 fps. acurracey is excellent 1/2 moa at 200yd. I shot an antelope last season very slightly quartering away at nearly 400 yd. The bullet entered 6 inches behind the shoulder it then must have deflected and exited out the middle front of the neck completely destroying the cape. Can't wait to try the new bonded ballistic tips.
Submitted by: KK
Date: 10/31/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Loading the 140 Gr Nosler Ballistic Tip over 95gr of RL 25 in a 7mm Rem Ultra Mag for 3460fps....WOW Took a Pronghorn at 250yds quartering away, made a 6" entry wound and no exit. Antelope never knew what hit him! Took a Mule deer at 300yds and made a 4" entry wound and a 1" exit wound. Again it dropped like a building had fell on it!
Submitted by: Stan Stewart
Date: 10/23/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
55 gr. in my 243 backed by H414 perfect for woodchucks. Safe around cattle (no retained weight except for base cap which is minimal)
Submitted by: Livesay
Date: 8/12/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
180 gr.in 30-06 Springfield... shot through ~100lb. deer almost end to end with minimal meat damage. Great Bullet not too fast (in 30-06) but plenty of power. Perfect for whitetails.
Submitted by: Livesay
Date: 8/12/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use the 50 grain Nosler Ballistic Tip in the .220 Swift and the 180 Ballistic Tip in the .300 H&H, and I've found them to be the most accurate bullets generally available. My Ruger .220 Swift has fired several .250" groups. The .300 groups about .75" at 100 yards, and 1.25" at 200 yards. Pretty hard to beat in production rifles using mass-produced bullets.
Submitted by: Jafig
Date: 7/27/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Used 150 gr. ballistic tip in front of IMR 4350 @ 3100 fps in 7 rem mag. Groups average 0.3@100yards. Everyanimal shot has dropped like a rock.
Submitted by: TRM
Date: 11.072003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy