Quantcast
 
      
 
Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Register
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 Donations

Please help us keeping this
site running by your donation.
You can donate by all major
credit cards or phone, through PayPal,
Alertpay or by DaoPay



 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the Remington Core-Lokt bullet.
 
This is a good bullet. I use it in 30-06, and 300 win mag. It is capable of .7 in to 1in groups in both rifles, and I have killed deer with it from 30yds to 300 yds. It always exits when placed broadside, and will go through both shoulders on a large whitetail without a problem.
Submitted by: Elton Green
Date: 10/20/2008
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Used 200 grain Core-Lokt over 58 grains of IMR-3031 @ about 2850 fps. in a M673 Remington in 350 Remington Magnum. Rifle shoots around 1 inch at 100 yards off the bench. Killed 150 lbs. whitetail this fall @ 65 yards. Bullet was not recovered, but entered at the front of the left shoulder and exited just behind the right shoulder blade. Exit wound was large and bleeding, but was not needed, as deer dropped where he stood. I did loose about half of the off shoulder due to being blood-shot. Excellent bullet in this velocity range.
Submitted by: Mel C.
Date: 2/24/2008
Rifle used: Remington M673
Caliber: 350 Remington Magnum
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Handloads using this bullet in 180 gr. usually shoot into .7 to .8 inches and I load them with 55.0 gr. of IMR 4350 for 2675 average velocity from a Ruger M77MkII. BBlLength 22". Range 100 yds. Hits about 27 inches low at 400 yds, shoots into about 4" at that distance. Will shoot through both shoulders on a large Whitetail deer at 400 yds. Very good bullet.
Submitted by: Elton Green
Date: 12/14/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use the corelokt in both a 30-06 and a .300 Winchester Mag. I have killed about 20 Kansas whitetails ranging from 150lb live weight to 230lb live weight or so. I have never had a core separation from this bullet, and I use the 180gr. .308 bullet almost exclusively. I have also killed mule deer with the 8mm version of this bullet. In this case, using an 8mm-06 improved. The deer was at no more than 25 yds. and the bullet did not fragment. It lodged in the off shoulder, and I poured the lungs out of the chest cavity. If you keep the velocity within the bullet's design parameters, it performs very well, indeed. By the way my hunting buddy has used this bullet to kill deer from 30 yds to 300 yds away over the last three years. We have recovered all of them, and the bullets exited the off-side on every one. Accuracy is generally 3/4 to 1 in. at 100yds.
Submitted by: Elton Green
Date: 9/30/2007
Rifle used: Ruger M77mkII/Rem 700
Caliber: 30-06/ 300WinMag
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
My first and last experience was with a 90 grn Core-Lokt on a Axis Deer. My son had a 40 yard broadside shot, hitting the buck perfectly behind the shoulder. After a couple of hours of tracking the deer, we finally got a second shot hitting him in the throat. I got to looking at the chest shot, and saw that the bullet had made a 90 degree turn skipping between the cape, and muscle and exiting out the brisket area. I give this bullet a 6 for accuracy, and a zero for performance.
Submitted by: Elliot Weigel
Date: 2/9/2007
Rifle used: Rem Model 700. Lawsen Custom Stock
Caliber: 6mm Rem
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have taken 1 Large "480 lb hanging" Bull elk with this round. As well as a forked horn Blacktail buck. In the case of the Elk the round hit a bit low and forward. clipping the right shoulder, severing both corated artyries , busting the trachia, breaking the left shoulder and stopping under the skin on the far side. the 140 gr core-lokt round retained 80-90 percent of its weight and mushroomed perfectly. The elk dropped in its tracks and was unreponsive when i had reached it. this shot was 450 yds downhill in thick timber. Bang! dead elk. The rounds performance was flawless. In the case of the Blacktail the buck was hit at 75 yds with the 140 gr Core-Lokt also. the shot landed a bit back mushing up the lungs and smashing the liver (but no green stuff) the round passed through with a 2" exit hole and a fist sized bruise. The deer went about 25 yds and was done kicking before I found it in the thick brush. Making it rather difficult to find. Once again the round functioned exactly as expected. Also a couple years ago I took a 200 lb black bear at 35 yds with this same round. the bear was standing facing me. I shot it in the throat about an inch left of center. The bear dropped, It did however attempt to charge when approched but was unable to get up due to (much intended) spinal damage. So "this round has saved my life" =) Ragnor trusts core-lokt and so can you =)
Submitted by: Ragnor
Date: 10/13/2006
Rifle used: model70 classic sporter
Caliber: 7mmstw
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Dec 30, 2005 shot a 9 point whitetail buck at range of @ 165 yards with a 300 Weatherby Magnum. Deer went down immediately. Heart and significant portion of lungs destroyed. Dime size entrance wound, quarter size exit wound. Load 165 gr Core-lokt, 76 gr IMR 4350, CCI Magnum Primers, velocity @ 3100 fps.
Submitted by: xxx
Date: 1/23/2006
Rifle used: Weatherby Mark V
Caliber: .300 Weatherby Magnum
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
shot a nice 10 point at 50 yards with my 32 win special right through left shoulder came out behind right shoulder. The deer dropped within 20 yards of being shot.No meat damaged, great expansion. after further examination the deer had been shot through the heart...there was hardly anything left of it. I dont know about any other cartridges but the 32 win special works great with a 150 grain remington core-lokt
Submitted by: Grant
Date: 12/13/2005
Rifle used: Winchest model 94
Caliber: 32 Winchester Specail
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used Remington Core-Lokts in 243cal(100gr) and 30-06(165gr). All of the 30 cal/165gr. exited leaving a nickel sized hole. All but two of the 100gr. ones exited and the two recovered looked like the advertisement. Keep velocities no greater than 2800-2850fps or so and they'll work like advertised.
Submitted by: ctw
Date: 2/8/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
This 175 graint PSPCL 7mm bullet (.284" dia.) loaded in front of 46.3 gr of IMR 4350 powder with a muzzle velocity of 2400 fps was fired twice into a 10" diameter by 15" long hard dry alder piece of firewood laid loose on the ground at 50 yards and allowed to absorb the shock. One bullet penetrated 9 1/2", expanded to better than 5/8" across and weighed 119 gr when recovered (68% of original weight). The second bullet penetrated 13" and expanded to 7/16" across and weighed 128 gr when recovered (73% of original bullet weight). Both bullets displayed excellent mushrooming qualities with the second of the two being nearly picture perfect as Remington like to show in their advertisements. I believe that with performance like that it will be truly effective on any North American big game with a well placed shot.
Submitted by: MNW
Date: 1/19/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have shot a lot of deer with the factory loads , so when I started reloading I used the same bullet .Just Shot a 200+ lb muley at 100 yds. with a 7mm zeroed at 400 yards he walked and wobbled about 20 yards . 2" entrance wound , dime sized exit.shot was a little high but lost no meat . Love those corelocks .
Submitted by: sixisenough
Date: 11/28/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have only shot 3 deer with 7mm rem mag 150 gr core-lokt using 63 gr of IMR 4831 getting about 3100 FPS, the closest shot was about 35 yards and the longest was 200 and all broadside. The bullet went competly through all three leaving identical entrance and exit wounds, no exit wound was bigger than a quater. The last deer, I did have to shoot twice but the first shot was not a good one (too low). the second shot was a neck shot at less than 10 yards and the bullet still did not explode on impact. They are working great for me, I shoot about 30-40 rounds every week constantely get great groups (less than 2 inch at 100 yards) they would be better but the barrel gets a little warm after 10 or so shots.
Submitted by: Jason, Woodville MS
Date: 7/15/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shot a bull nilgai twice with a 180gr. core-lokt from my 300 Win. BAR. at 50 yds. ( running of course ) the first bullet entered behing the shoulder and exited the other side. The second bullet entered the shoulder on the left side and was recovered under the skin of the opposite shoulder. The bullet weight is 88grs. The shoulders had baseball side holes through them. Performance was perfect from bullet and rifle.
Submitted by: Brian Human
Date: 3/1/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
7mm stw shot on doe quarting away at 100 yards ran 250 yards and expired. Bullet exploded on impact and did not pass thru, total fragmetation, about a 6" diameter entrance hole. I would not recommend this bullet for anything with a fast +3000 fps round.
Submitted by: stw
Date: 1/3/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
This fall I Shot a 190 lb buck at 90 yrds with a Remington 788 in 7MM-08, 18 1/2" brl with 140 gr core-lokt bullet passed through the top part of lungs and just below the back bone. The lead portion passed through both sides and exited while the jacket lay against the skin on the far side of deer. The deer went down instantly and never moved.
Submitted by: J L P
Date: 12/18/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have shot numerous deer(over 10) with the 150 grain Corelock PSP, both in 300 Savage and 308 Win. rifles. No bullets have been recovered, but the Corelock seems to transfer its energy well to game in these medium velocity calibers. Large exit holes! Most of the deer shot were taken between 50 and 100 yards in the chest/lung area and dressed out between 120 and 150 lbs. All but one were knocked off their feet by the first shot, the lone exception was heart shot, and it was recovered after a final sprint of 50 yards. One large doe was taken head on at 240 yards, the Corelock entered at the base of the neck and broke the spine before exiting, leaving a 3 inch wound channel. I don't know about the effectiveness of the Corelock in the faster velocity calibers, but the 150 grain PSP Coreloft has reliably put venison in the freezer for me,with no wounded deer and great knock-down results.
Submitted by: MEA
Date: 11/29/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
In short, in the "Core-Lokt", despite marketing claims, the core is not "locked", by any stretch of the imagination. Core separation is usual and typical. Too many other very good bullets, such as the ordinary but extraordinarily competent Hornady Interlock, for both handgun and rifle -- excepting 30-30 bullets. I am a physicist, and prone to elaborate testing. I have yet to find even one good example of a good 30-30 bullet. All come apart with ease, consistently.
Submitted by: GCG
Date: 9/19/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have shot quite a few deer with factory load 130 grain core lokts in my 270 Win. I used it for animal control and regular hunting so I have shot upwards of 50 deer with this round. 80% of the deer dropped immediately upon being shot and the longest distance a deer has moved was about 55 yards. Never have I had to shot a deer more than once with this combination. Weight retention is an unknown to be as I have never had the bullet not pass completely through a deer. Granted the bullet does destroy a fair amount of meat.
Submitted by: wade brown
Date: 8/1/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shot a nice buck two years ago with a 200 grain Core-Lokt from a .350 Remington Magnum. I didn't recover the bullet, as it penetrated completely, but the performance was excellent.
Submitted by: Jafig
Date: 7/27/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Agree with previous submitter. Once shot deer (30-06 180 gr.) in chest when it was coming at me from 50 yards. The bullet fragmented and damaged much meat. I was with a friend who shot a moose broadside in the shoulder with a 180 gr. 30-06 factory load at less than 50 yards. The bullet stopped on the shoulder bone and the moose ran off. I shot it through the head with a 30-06 Nosler 180 grain BT. That stopped him but the Nosler exit would was 0.308"
Submitted by: Scott
Date: 7/20/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shot the 150 gr. .284 twice at deer. The bullets fragmented badly on broadside shots, one ending up in the hindquarter after hitting in the shoulder at 75 yards and the other only recovered in pieces after a 100 yard shot. Lots of meat damage. Animals still traveled a long way after being hit. I would not recommend these bullets to anyone.
Submitted by: TRM
Date: 11.072003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy