Quantcast
 
      
 
Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Register
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 Donations

Please help us keeping this
site running by your donation.
You can donate by all major
credit cards or phone, through PayPal,
Alertpay or by DaoPay



 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the Sierra Gameking bullet.
 
.375 MOA at 300 yards with Sierra Gameking 130 gr. I loaded Win Brass and Win Primer with 56gr H4831sc 2920 FPS. 3 shot group fired from 300 yards measured 1.125 inches. The rifle was a Ruger M77 MkII. Bullets were seated 2.815 inches from the base of the cartridge to the bullet ogive which allowed .005 inches of free jump. Identical results were achieved from 200 yards the day before. Shot a doe with this load from 241 yards. Bullet broke through a rib, heart, lungs and exit wound the size of a quarter. It's a great load for white tails and antelope in my rifle.
Submitted by: ghhughey
Date: 4/28/2014
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
E' una palla che non perdona, ferma tuttoIo ho cacciato Daini, Cinghiali, Cervi, Mulfoni, Caprioli, tutti a distanze oltre i 180 mt. con abbattimenti immediati e puliti. Io carico così. 54 grani di Vihtavuori N150 in estate (18-35°) 55 grani di Vihtavuori N150 in inverno (0-18°) palla 130 GK SPBT H. cartuccia finita a mm 84 innesco(primer) : CCI 200BR- Fed.210GM bossolo (case)= FC + Factory crimp. LEE Rinaldo - Italy
Submitted by: oby.dan@libero.it
Date: 1/9/2014
Rifle used: Remington 700 BDL
Caliber: .270Win.
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I've reloaded the 150 SGK in my 270 for many years. Absolutely the most accurate bullet for this rifle I've tested. Its taken many deer over the years - Broadside, quartering both ways and high shoulder shots. All but one were complete pass throughs. They went in bullet size and came out with less than 2" exit holes. Up until last year I would have given them a "6" (the best) hunting performance, except for the one - It came apart before it hit the deer. This shot was 45 yards broadside. I did get a DRT deer. But, none of the bullet pieces hit where I was aiming. One piece, luckily, hit the neck bone about 9" from the POA. Two other pieces hit - 1 in rib section and the other in the hind quarter. Plus, could have been more pieces I can't account for! Took 20 more rounds of this same reload batch to range following weekend - All held together and performed great.
Submitted by: RaySendero
Date: 11/10/2011
Rifle used: Rem M700
Caliber: 270
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used 130 gr Sierra Gamekings in 270 Win for several years taking many animals from coyotes, Upstate NY Whitetails and California Blacktails. All animals dropped like hit with the hammer of Thor. I use Reloader 22 and get 3000 fps. My shortest shot was 30 yards and my longest was 236 yards. Exit holes are typically about the size of a quarter. I'm not sure where these bullets get a rap about blowing up. I have found quite the opposite. They work great and after testing Nosler, Hornady and Swift, I found these bullets to be the most accurate by FAR. I shoot 1/2 to 3/4 inch groups @ 100 yds. I glass bedded and free floated an old Browning A-bolt for a buddy. He had given up on this rifle. I loaded up some 150 gr GK and they shot 3/4 inches all day long. He now once again uses this rifle. Don't believe what you read about these bullets not holding together. They work great and are superbly accurate.
Submitted by: ERJ
Date: 10/12/2011
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Please excuse the typo.... Gamekings should not be used for short range high velocity.
Submitted by: Ralph from NJ
Date: 8/18/2011
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
As I read reviews on these bullets from other sources, it's said that Sierra bullets are too soft, come apart upon impact, blow up per say.... etc....... So opinions will fly. Well opinions caused me to invetigate for myself to ask Sierra wha the deal is. Carroll Pilant explained to me that the gamekings are designed for short range high impact shooting at game. The Prohutner is... the flat base prohunter is designed to hold up against short range high velocity impact, and the gamekings are for long range work. The Gamekings have to have time to slow down in order to not come apart upon impact. SO be it as it may, apply the right bullet at the right velocity at the right range and you'll be fine. Sierra make one heck of a bullet.
Submitted by: Ralph from NJ
Date: 8/18/2011
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
excellent on small game, but not as explosive as other hollow points i've used in the past. A very accurate bullet.
Submitted by: bailey
Date: 4/26/2011
Rifle used: ADL 700
Caliber: 22-250
Hunting performance: 3 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used the Sierra Gameking Spitzer Boat tail 165 grain bullet in my .308 and 30-06 for 30 years. For deer and antelope, there is nothing better. Recovery of a bullet is rare, with match grade accuracy and large exit holes, it is great on deer. I have hit mule deer in the shouldeer and had exit wounds the size of baseballs. My family and I have killed at least 50 animals with them. I have killed several elk at ranges up to 300 yards and do prefer a heavier jacketed bullet for these large animals that stays together better and penetrates deeper, though I never lost an elk because of jacket core separation.
Submitted by: Spider
Date: 1/13/2011
Rifle used: Browning A bolt
Caliber: .308 Win
Hunting performance: 4 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
My favourite Whitetail bullet. Have used the 165 gr. Boattail for ten years, and have had great results. I don't care too much about the bullet staying together as much as dynamic and instant death. This bullet craters bucks. I find the bullet weight just right for long range deer, and have taken several large whitetail bucks (250'lbs +)in northern Alberta, from 150-500 yds. They just go down. I do lament the discontinuation of Federal's High Energy load with this bullet as it was in my mind the ultimate whitetail death ray. I was getting 3030 fps and cloverleafs from the '06. The Federal Premium with these bullets will have to suffice, though overpriced methinks. Only have taken one big muley with this bullet, at 60 yds. and it went boomflop. Bullet exited. I killed a bull moose in northern BC with the 180 grain Gameking from the .300 Win. magnum @ around 300 yds. The bullet traversed both lungs and the bull went about 20 steps before collapse. Post-mortem showed the Gameking bullet had made about six wound channels in an expanding funnel shape from the entrance, and the Indian guy I was with said, "I like that." He's shot more moose than I'll ever see, and the bull was quite dead, so I'm not going to argue. Personal preference - the Gameking is outstanding on Whitetails and Muleys. This is it's perfect application. I prefer a tougher projectile for larger animals such as elk and moose. austring@naim.ca
Submitted by: Alberta
Date: 6/24/2010
Rifle used: Win M70 Stainless Classic
Caliber: .30-06
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Have used the Sierra GameKing 100 in the .257weatherby for the past 3yrs with great success at all yardages. Very accurate. Took an 8pt out at 400yds, heart shot. Have taken bucks at 250, 75 and 40yds. No "blow-ups" of the bullet. Small hole in and good exit on far side. Devastating terminal ballistics, granted I did not shoot into the bone except for the 400yd 8pt (I couldnt get the buck to pose for me).
Submitted by: Perferator
Date: 6/7/2010
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Once again, I have used the .358 Sierra Gameking in 225gr. weight for my 35 Whelen as my deer killing bullet. It proved to be accurate at distances from 50 to 350yds this year, and I used it to kill three whitetail deer ranging in size from 100lb dressed to 140lb dressed. All were pass throughs, and only one deer needed a finishing shot. That was because I didn't have good shot placement with the first round at 350yds. I had removed my stock for a repair, and hadn't re-zeroed properly for the round. This is a good bullet which has never failed to pass through any deer I have hit and never failed.
Submitted by: Elton Green
Date: 1/26/2010
Rifle used: Remington 700 CDL
Caliber: .358
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Well, this is the third year I've used the 358 gameking 225gr. bullet in my Whelen. I chronographed my loads and they hover around 2725fps. That duplicates a 180gr. 30-06 bullet, but hits with nearly 1000ftlb more energy. I still haven't recovered a single bullet from this rifle. I killed 7 whitetails this last season. Some were back-up for other shooters. All were pass-through shots. One was at less than 30yds (Field dressed at 155lb) and two were at 280+yds. This bullet kills very well.
Submitted by: Elton Green
Date: 9/13/2009
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
These bullets are excellent, despite what you may have heard.. I have shot three bullets though the same hole at 200 meters on two different occasions. They were all side by side grouping 3/8" Both days the weather was overcast, and slightly cool. (sighted in during the fall) No wind. When I approached the target, there were several other guys looking at there targets. The first thing that I said was "Holy F&^%!!!!" They all couldn't believe that I was shooting a "crappy savage". One guy thought I was shooting a Sako. I used the rifle the same year to hunt some whitetails. I shot a buck in late October. The buck was standing broadside at about 300 meters away. The Gameking hit the buck a little high, but right over the heart. It passed right through the top of the lungs, just barely missing the spine, and destroying the lungs. The deer dropped hind legs first, and then the front legs not far behind! When I approached the deer, it of course was quite dead. The entrance, and exit hole were about the size of a baseball!!! Remember that this shot was at 300 Meters!! Outta control!! By the way I loaded the bullet under 54.0 Grains of H4350. Can't remember the seating depth though.. I was getting around 2950 -3050Fps through the chrony. TRY THESE BULLETS!!! You just might like em'
Submitted by: Greggy
Date: 4/27/2009
Rifle used: SAVAGE 114 EURO CLASSIC
Caliber: .270
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I love the accuracy of these bullets! Groupings are generally 3/4" or quite less. I shot a young 3X3 buck with it a few years back. I meant to shoot the nice 4X4 standing next to it, but couldn't make it out well enough as it was getting late.. anyways, I shot this deer at about three hundred paces or more. The .270 bucked, and the deer dropped like something heavy landed on it. When I got to the deer, it of course was quite dead. The damage the bullet left was quite brutal. The bullet hit a little high in the lung region. It passed right trough both sides, leaving a hole about 4 inches wide through both sides!! This is the first time I realized how powerful the .270 really is. The lungs were completely turned into mush. Crazy!! When I was enjoying some delicious backstrap steaks a week later, I was again stunned when I chewed into a hard piece of lead. Even though the bullet didn't hit near the spine, the explosion of the bullet fragmented pieces upward through the back. Insane!!! Try these bullets! Good results! Last fall I tried some Nosler Accubond in 140 grains. The grouping was one ragged 1/2' hole after 5 shots at 100 meters. Might be trying these next fall :)
Submitted by: Greg
Date: 3/3/2009
Rifle used: Savage 114 Euro Classic
Caliber: .270
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Have used 140gn gamekings in my 270 for 15 years always outstanting.get 0.4 3 shot groups consitintly and have taken lots of pig and goat. just got back from northen western australia took 4 shots at 500 yards and got 5 goats if a bullet can take 2 good billys at that distance its got my vote.Also dynamite on feral donkeys and camels
Submitted by: jason
Date: 12/27/2008
Rifle used: sako 75
Caliber: .270 win
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Use it in my Sauer 202 .223R - loaded with 23,5 grains of Viht. N135, Remington brass and CCI400 primers - shoot 1/4 MOA groups at 100 meters. Great performance on roedeer (50lbs)- Mushrooms perfect and allways gives me the exithole I want - in case the animal should run...best huntingbullet for small size deer in .224!!!
Submitted by: JAST
Date: 12/22/2008
Rifle used: Sauer 202
Caliber: 223R
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used the .358 cal 225 gr Sierra Gameking in my 35 Whelen for the last two years. I have shot several whitetail deer with it. Most have dressed over 125lb. and ranges have been from 30yds to 325 yds or so. I have not recovered a bullet yet. All were pass throughs. Exit wounds at 250 yds. are still the size of a silver dollar for those who remember them. Twice, the shot was a quartering frontal shot, and the bullet passed from the front shoulder and exited the off side hip. Both shots were over 240yds. Accuracy with these bullets hovers around .7" to .9". Remember, bullet failure isn't the bullet coming apart on its way through. Bullet failure is not humanely killing the animal. These bullets kill very very reliably.
Submitted by: Elton Green
Date: 8/21/2008
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I've gotten 4 pronghorns with this bullet, all in the 180-200 yard range, and have only good things to say about it. Loaded to about 3000 fps, it's very accurate and knocks them flat.
Submitted by: mckie
Date: 4/11/2008
Rifle used: cz550
Caliber: .243
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Have shot only two Pronghorn with this bullet in two different 6mm remingtons. One at 180yds and one at 350yds. Both went in one side and out the other. Both left 3/4"-1"exit holes. Neither animal went 10yds. I like it.
Submitted by: DanC
Date: 3/25/2008
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I don't know about how well they penetrate--haven't shot a deer with it yet--but I do know that the accuracy is outstanding! I use the 100 gr in .257 for my Weatherby Vanguard. One load uses 71 grains of Reloader 22 which produces a .38" group at 100 yds. I also worked up a load using 63 grains of Reloader 22. This load produces ballistics almost exactly like the 25-06 100 gr factory load. It produces a three shot group of .36" at 100 yds. This is superb accuracy for a Vanguard.
Submitted by: Red Coleman
Date: 1/16/2008
Rifle used: Weatherby Vanguard
Caliber: .257 Wby Magnum
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have read many results and have duplicated some. For the most part, they separate at high velocity. They appear to be the most accurate hunting bullet. They also seem to perform poorly at high velocity on game. Separating from the jacket with the lead vanishing and just the tail of the boat tail remaining beneath the hide on the opposite side. None dropped in their tracts. Some were large elk, the worst case beyond 1000lbs. elk and fell only after the 7th shot and bled out on his feet. I don't use these anymore. Fact, Thanks, Tomygun
Submitted by: Tomygun
Date: 11/30/2007
Rifle used: Md-70
Caliber: 300 Win, .264 Win Mag
Hunting performance: 2 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have read many results and have duplicated some. For the most part, they separate at high velocity. They appear to be the most accurate hunting bullet. They also seem to perform poorly at high velocity on game. Separating from the jacket with the lead vanishing and just the tail of the boat tail remaining beneath the hide on the opposite side. None dropped in their tracts. Some were large elk, the worst case beyond 1000lbs. elk and fell only after the 7th shot and bled out on his feet. I don't use these anymore. Fact, Thanks, Tomygun
Submitted by: Tomygun
Date: 11/30/2007
Rifle used: Md-70
Caliber: 300 Win, .264 Win Mag
Hunting performance: 2 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used this bullet in several calibers. 7mag, 06, 270. In the 7 mag integrity seemed a bit lacking, had jacket core seperation in about 2/3 of the bullets, accuracy was adequate but not great about 1-1.5 inch groups. In the 06 and 270 I have found a few that seperated but they still did the job very well. This is the only bullet I use in the 06 and 270. The 06 drives tacks with the load strait out of the sierra manual for 165gr, the 270 puts out 1" or better and this riffle is an older post 64 winchester mod 70 and still origional no tweeking at all
Submitted by: Joe King
Date: 10/20/2007
Rifle used: rugger,savage,win70
Caliber: 270,7mag,30-06
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have killed several deer with this bullet. It penetrated one large Kansas doe through the chest just in front of the front legs at 248 yds. the exit wound was about 2" to 2 1/2" on the off side in both the ribcage and the hide. I don't know how they hold together in deer, because I haven't had one fail to exit so far, generally with impressive exit wounds. Groups range from 0.6 to 0.85 in. at 100yds. You don't need better than that.
Submitted by: Elton Green
Date: 8/12/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Used this bullet in a backup rifle on a BISON The Rifle was a 338/378 WBY Using 250gr Gamekings loaded to 3100fps. The 2000 pound bull charged at 40yds all i had was a quartering-to neck shot. It stopped him in his tracks, but later was recovered in a perfect mushroom but stopped short of chest cavity. A solid would have performed better in this situation but to not have blown apart at that close range is a testament to its toughness.
Submitted by: Justin
Date: 7/9/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I for the life of me can not understand why people have had trouble with this bullet fragmenting. I have hunted with this bullet for over 30 years, and have killed well over 40 mule deer in three states from 50 to 350yds and have never retrieved not one bullet. I would say all deer were killed with one shot and fell within there shadow. From a 30-06, Using 165gr on top of 46.1 gr of IMR 3031 powder @ 2700 fps, this load shoots half inch groups @ 100yds in my rifle. I am now in the process of building a load for a 300 WBY using the Sierra 165gr bullet @ 3100 fps and have all the confidence in this bullet
Submitted by: Marty M
Date: 6/19/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
i have shoot 45 whitetail with 165 grain sierra gameking btsp all were put in the freezer. all had a blood trail. one of the best bullets i have ever used. from 5 feet to 300 yard . rangeing from 150 to 300 lbs. its also great on bobcats and coyotes .
Submitted by: russell
Date: 5/4/2007
Rifle used: 742
Caliber: 308
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
This bullet seems to be very accurate off the bench. Sub moa groups were achieved with almost all rfles tested. Performance on game is decent. Bullet seems to open very quickly. Do not always count on a pass through.
Submitted by: 25 cal
Date: 2/22/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: 3 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shot a doe at about 150 yds with the 7mm Rem Mag. Bullet hit bone and completely fell apart. They are very accurate but seem to be a little fragile for game.
Submitted by: bigtime reloader
Date: 2/5/2007
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: 3 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have personally used the Gameking bullets in 25, 27, 30, and 375 calibers. I have taken game with all of those calibers EXCEPT 375. That said, all of the deer, elk, and various other medium to large sized game that have been taken were with very few exceptions one shot kills. I have loaded many different types of bullets for various applications/customers over the years. Some of these bullets were cheaper. Most were more expensive. None performed any better. The Gameking provides terminal performance and accuracy. In fact, many of my old shooting buddies actually used the Gameking as their target load during NRA Service Rifle Match Competitions (and won!). So there you have it . . . .
Submitted by: Craig Sheek
Date: 1/6/2007
Rifle used: Remington 722, 700, Ruger 77, Mauser 66S, 98. etc
Caliber: 0.257, 0.277, 0.284, 0.308, 0.358, 0.375
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use the 140 grain Gameking HPBT in my .270 WSM and push these at 3250 fps with 73.5 grains of Magpro. Needless to say at this velocity I should be using a bonded bullet but I've already shot 6 deer with this load and all have been pass through's. The deer shot have been between 25 yards and 300 and this bullet has never failed to expand and I have never needed a second shot. On one Texas deer I shot the only shot available to me was righ on the shoulder and this bullet went right through both. So I can tell you for first hand experience that this bullet performs wonderfully and does a lot of damage to anything it hits.
Submitted by: Pesti DiPingas
Date: 12/3/2006
Rifle used: Remington 700
Caliber: .270 WSM
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used the 150gr bullet in my 30-06 to take 2 deer at 100yards. Performance was perfect, big exit hole. I've used the 180gr at low velocity (2500fps) and bullet expansion was again perfect on deer. The 140gr for the 6.5x55 swedish mauser hit deer like a hammer. A perfect deer bullet, some blood shot meat but the price you pay for knock down performance.
Submitted by: T Wood
Date: 3/14/2006
Rifle used:
Caliber: 30-06, 7.5x55, 6.5x55
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
These are excellent bullets for accuracy. They are best for varments. Anyone using them on other game will mame and ruin meat.I'd go to a bonded bullet for medium to large game at all ranges. Cast bullets in brush, close range can't be beat. I use these for 600yd shoots.
Submitted by: Bill Brass
Date: 1/16/2006
Rifle used: Savage 110
Caliber: .243
Hunting performance: 2 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used Woodleigh bullets in four different calibres .270W,.338W,9.3x62 & .416T. Each of these bullets have been very accurate with a little load fiddling, most loads achieving MOA. Terminal performance is where these bullets shine, I have several recovered projectiles from heavy game (scrub bulls) with typical weight retention of 85.0%-95.0% even when fired at relatively close range. Expanded bullets look like big ugly mushrooms.
Submitted by: elsie
Date: 1/6/2006
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Took 8 Deer this year with 270 WSM with 130gr sierra gameking. The shots were from 40yds out to 180yds. All Deer droped in there tracks. Shots were broad side,angle toward me and on walking away giving only a spine shot.Some pass throughs with nice exit holes.Very good bullet on Deer.
Submitted by: S.A. Richburg
Date: 1/5/2006
Rifle used: Model 70 WSM
Caliber: .270
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have hunted Coast to coast with the 180 grain Sierra Gameking in the 30-06 with 56.5 of IMR 4350. Excellent performance on Deer to Moose/elk. Also one of the most accurate bullets I have ever shot....
Submitted by: Jeff Auton
Date: 11/23/2005
Rifle used: Remington 760
Caliber: 30-06
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I loaded 150GR game kings for my Brothers 308 Win. I had two bullets fly apart while sighting the rifle in. I switched and loaded from a box of 180GR game kings that I had in the cabinet and received unmatched accuracy. I could consistently cover 5 shot groups with a dime. The rifle has only taken one animal, a 250 lb exotic ram, but it took that animal with stride. It died on contact. I watched as this animal tumbled down a 250’ cliff. The bullet performed perfectly.
Submitted by: Philip S
Date: 10/27/2005
Rifle used: FN98 Custom/Parker Hale barrel
Caliber: 308 Winchester
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used this bullet in 150 grain to take 2 whitetail bucks, 2 wild hogs and 1 pronghorn antelope. I am using a 300wsm in a Tikka T3. This bullet cannot be beat for accuracy! I shot my antelope @ 452 yards and he fell in his tracks. The bullet went all the way through. The 2 deer were shot @ between 40-65 yards and the bullet did not penetrate through the animal. The hogs were shot at 90-100 yards and the bullet went through them. If you want complete penetration @ all ranges this is not the bullet for you @ over 3,000 fps. 2,900 fps and less it seems to penetrate completely regardless of range.
Submitted by: LOBO
Date: 3/14/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Is it true that Gameking bullets have too explosive expansion? I have shot one large European Elk and one midsize boar with them and a few European Roe-Deer (all 180 gr bullets). Based on the exit wounds of the Roe-Deer I would say expansion is not controlled enough for large game. I have shot many on the range and they are accurate. I am hedging my bets on the Pro-Hunter bullets from now on.
Submitted by: Jos
Date: 1/24/2005
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I've used the 90gn BTHP in 25/303 and have been constantly impressed by its performance. Explosive on small game and a solid hitter on medium game like kangaroos. No animal has ever got up. The price was also very pleasing.
Submitted by: Andy, NSW Australia
Date: 12/10/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I used the 100 grain gamekings in a 250-3000 Savage at 2850 fps. At close range (100 yards) it blew a hole in the deer you could throw a cat threw,damaged to much meat. Paul Box from Sierra's tech line told me they were going to slow and that is why they blew up??? So I loaded up 5 gamekings in my 257 weatherby mag and shot them into a target at 100 yards, the result was little black spots like 22 shot shells produce, the bullets never made it to the target in one piece. Last year loaded some in my sons 243, he blew a lot of hair off deer, but never downed one until I changed to another brand of bullet. They do shoot tight groups if you slow them down enough.
Submitted by: Jim Eastmond
Date: 11/18/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
have read some disconcerting reports...i have only good things to say about these bullets...accurate and tough enough. took my 338 ultra to Africa stoked with 215gr sierras...one shot one kill on 5 different animals. everything fell where they stood including kudu and gemsbok which are tough as nails. as for core separation i did have it on the kudu but it had to crash through the shoulder blade and found the core on the far side shoulder. if it kills that well in Africa it will surely do the job in N. America.
Submitted by: brad king
Date: 11/6/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Very accurate bullets but terrible on big game. Jacket core separation alsmost always no matter what you hit. Great for varmints/targets.
Submitted by: Pop
Date: 10/26/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Have loaded these for years... used on game from antelope (ouch) to moose. 18 kills with 19 rounds at ranges from 100-350 yds. Never lost an animal, they seldom take more than a step. Tried everything, stopped when we got to this one. Still on the first box.
Submitted by: Steve in the midwest
Date: 9/25/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
i have had excellent accuracy with this bullet and have shot a lot of game with it in several calibers and experianced core seperation but the animals never knew it and i never came close to losing one but the do seperate on deceleration but they are killers and they are the most accurate hunting bullet i have ever shot.
Submitted by: DON COMPTON
Date: 5/26/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I will echo the general observations. This bullet (Sierra) can't be beat for accuracy. But I have found that close shots and/or high velocity will completely fragment this bullet. I shot a spike whitetail once at about 40 yds. with him almost quartering towards me. I shot him in the base of the neck and due to the angle, it went into the chest cavity. When I picked him up he sloshed inside. No exit wound and his insides were a mess. It will kill but it can make a mess of meat. These are great bullets for developing loads and practice due to their price and accuracy. If you are hunting something big or important, I recommend something stronger.
Submitted by: Wayne Haller
Date: 5/18/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I TOO HAVE HAD ALOT OF CORE SEPERATION WITH MY EXPERIANCE W/.270 150 BOATTAILS I ONCE ACTUALLLY RECOVERED ONE FROM AFAWN ANTELOPE FROM 100 YDS.I HAVE NEVER LOST OR EVEN COME CLOSE TO LOOSING AN ANIMAL USING THESE IN MY HAND LOADS. SEPERATION PROBLEMS YES...LOST ANIMALS NO PERIOD. ACCURACY WAS BEAUTIFUL. DON COMPTON NORTH IDAHO & WYOMING
Submitted by: DON COMPTON
Date: 4/9/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
This is one of the better grouping bullets that I have loaded clover leaf groups @ 100 yards. (BUT) I have shot 3 whitetails with 150 gr. Gamekings in 7mm. One spine shot @ 120 yards dropped like a rock. One 90lb.doe through one shoulder both lungs she ran 75 yards, luckily I could see her the whole time because the exit hole was the smaller than the size of a dime,not much of a blood trail on a deer in full run. The third was a 140 B&C class , 85 yards knocked him down he got right up and ran. Not a drop of blood anywhere no deer found. The way I see it with a 7 mag they have been 1 for 3. I will never step in the whitetail woods with them again.
Submitted by: wallhanger
Date: 1/15/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I used a 165gr.Gameking in a 30-06 on a Caribou at 85 yards. Bullet blew up on shoulder. Follow up shot through Lungs put him down. Not made for shoulder or bone shot but very accurate.
Submitted by: Matthew N.
Date: 12/23/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have seen many core jacket separations with this bullet in recovery media. Shot a elk at 200 yards and bullet broke both shoulders coming to rest under hide. Core and jacket remained intact. Rifle was BLR in 358 win. Velocity 2460 on my chronograph. Just a observation and comment for those of you using this 225 grs bullet.
Submitted by: Tim
Date: 11/22/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I've used the Gamekings in the .270 and .30-06. The .270 130 grainers are pretty soft, but kill quite well. I've shot several whitetails and feral hogs up to 200 pounds and it has never let me down. The .30-06 165 grainers are incredible. I haven't shot as many head of game with that bullet, but it has always exited and has always killed very quickly. By the way, both bullets are very accurate.
Submitted by: Arns9@hotmail.com
Date: 11/3/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I've used this bullet in 30-06 165gr Federal Premium loads to kill two whitetail bucks of about 150lbs each. First buck at 150 yards shot in front part of chest exited behind ribs in front of ham. Jacket was under hide and core exited. Next buck at 75 yards broadside hit at bottom of spine. Aprox. 3 inch hole through spine with exit and no bullet recovery. Bullet was extremely accurate in this rifle. Bullet seems a little soft but I would not hesitate to use it on the size of deer we have here.
Submitted by:
Date: 10/12/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have tried these in several cartridges, on deer through wild pigs. They are superbly accurate, but in all cases when I could find the bullet, even without hitting bone the core separated from the jacket. As I generally use a larger bore, more powerful rifle than necessary, this has not been a problem in the cases in which I have used them. I would never be so foolish as to attempt to use them when bullet integrity was at all important. They are certain to fail.
Submitted by: GCG
Date: 9/19/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used the Sierra GK in 300 Win Mag as well as 243 Win with excellent results as far as accuracy are concerned. I have unfortunatly not had the same luck with bullet weight retention. My experiences are that they tend to fragment far to easy at ranges of less than 100 yards in both .308 and .243 caliber. A great accuracy bullet though
Submitted by: Chris
Date: 9/18/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Used this bullet on a hunt in Antiscote Island. Very good results. Venison in the deep freeze. Accuracy is fantasick.
Submitted by: Boyd
Date: 26.06.2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy