Quantcast
 
      
 
Site Menu
Home
Rifle
Handgun
Forum
Register
Login
Editorial
Webshop
Equipment
NewsBooth
Submit Load
Caliber Guide
Bullet Review
Advertisement
Powder Burnrates
Premium Subscription
Register
Login

Contact Us
Please donate!

LoadID Search (rifle)

 Mini statistics

Highest Rifle Velocity
5278 fps in .22-243 Middl.
5130 fps in .22-250 Ack Im

Most Powerfull Rifle
14412 ft-lbs in .700 NE
13109 ft-lbs in .50 BMG

 Donations

Please help us keeping this
site running by your donation.
You can donate by all major
credit cards or phone, through PayPal,
Alertpay or by DaoPay



 
 
 
Reviews and comments written for the Winchester Power Point bullet.
 
I have used this bullett with great success on whitetail and antelope. Great penetration and weight retention. I have used it in both 30-06 and 30-30 and will not use anything else to hunt.
Submitted by: Paul Bennick
Date: 10/20/2010
Rifle used: Winchester M54 and M94
Caliber: 30-06 and 30-30
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have now killed 5 white tail does with 150 grain factory ammo. 4 of the five field dressed over 200 and the other was a yearling. All five fell flat on impact. One spine shot, one double lung, one double lung and heart, one terrible shot on a running doe that severed the inner triangle loins and one terrible shot on a running doe that hit the liver and guts. Never had to track any of them like I used to.
Submitted by: meet eater
Date: 12/28/2009
Rifle used: remington 700 bdl
Caliber: .270 win
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 4
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Could not reload them. Base of bullet was larger then the main body, causing a loose bullet in the casing. Cabelas will not take them back, although I haven't persued higher managment.
Submitted by: J Ronkar
Date: 3/29/2009
Rifle used: Wheaterby
Caliber: 7MM Mag.
Hunting performance: 1 Accuracy performance: 1
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shot a smallish whitetail buck in the ribs just behind the point of the leg. At the shot, the deer bounded away and I could see a huge bloody area where I had aimed. The deer ran behind some dead falls where I couldn't see him. I waited several seconds and I heard him fall. Closer inspection revealed that the bullet struck rib area only and exploded leaving a baseball sized superficial wound. A fragment from the bullet entered into the back of the leg and severed the main artery in the leg and he bled out quickly. If not for that fragment, that buck would have run off with a horrible wound. I admit the range was rather short (50 yards) But I expected better terminal performance.
Submitted by: John W.
Date: 10/14/2008
Rifle used: Savage 99C
Caliber: .243 Win
Hunting performance: 2 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
i am using this projectile in my smle 303 in 180gn weight even though it is 308 dia. i am geting 1 inch 3 shot groups an 2540 fps out of them, truly exceptional performance for a 303 smle, these are what i recomend for large deer they dont break up and penetration is second only to barns x or solids. works for me.
Submitted by: 303 nut
Date: 7/5/2006
Rifle used: 1913 lithgow no.1 mk3 smle
Caliber: 303 british
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I recently worked up a load using the 150gr in my .300 win mag using H4350 and decided to field test this load on a hog. I was curious to see the performance as I lok forward to using this on Elk. Well, just like otehrs have experienced...I was awesome! I dropped a 300 pound boar right in his tracks. Penetrated both shoulders and recovered the bullet just underneath the hide. It was a perfect mushroom with 58% weight retention. I know which bullets I'll be using from now on!!! Happy Hunting
Submitted by: rgalan@hotmail.com
Date: 7/5/2006
Rifle used: Parker Hale
Caliber: .300 Win Mag
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shoot a Browning A-bolt Stainless Stalker chambered in .325 WSM.and have shot paper with all three rounds availible (180gr. silvertip, 200gr. CT by Nosler, and 220gr. Power-point by Winchester). My gun, by far likes the Power-Points as I shoot bottle caps at 150 yds. but the Noslers seem to be all over the place. I can't wait to see what it does to an Elk this year! By the feed back I've read in this forum about the Power-Points, it should be a great hunt!
Submitted by: Michael Hight
Date: 6/26/2006
Rifle used: Browning A-Bolt
Caliber: .325 WSM.
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance: 6
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
In 1999 I bought a then new .300 WSM in Win Mod 70 Featherweight. I shot a big Mulie buck in the Forestry area north west of Calgary. I had spotted 3 small bucks and was looking for a meat buck. I had gotten out of the truck and entered the tree line working my way along the edge of this huge cut block. I spotted this buck and I couldn't figure out where the other three deer went but this one stood broadside at just under (best guess) 300 yards, possibly 280 yds uphill. I nestled behind a log and shot the 180 gr Power Point factory ammo. I hit the deer, albeit a little too far back and had to go up and finish him. Inspite of this that bullet performed exceptionally well for the shot placement anchoring the deer on the spot. Bear in mind also that this deer easily exceeded 300 pounds. It took me almost an hour, after gutting, to drag him downhill to the truck.
Submitted by: Larry Sayers
Date: 7/25/2005
Rifle used: Mod 70 Featherweight
Caliber: .300 WSM
Hunting performance: 6 Accuracy performance: 4
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I buy these in lots of 500.I hav taken quite alot of game with them in the .270 130 grain version and have good mushrooms if kept to winchester velocities.If notthey still kill very well and are accurate.I will not buy another bullet for casual shooting.I also don believe that you need a "premium" bullet at 3-5 times the price.
Submitted by: Don Compton, Idaho
Date: 5/6/2005
Rifle used: win classic fwt classic
Caliber: .270
Hunting performance: 5 Accuracy performance: 5
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I use the 180 grain bullet in both .300 Win Mag and .30-06. It has never failed to perform. It hits hard, expands just right for big game, and retains its weight well. On deer, I have only recovered one bullet. I was trying to hit the neck from the rear (over its back) and ended up totaly destroying about 15inches of spine. I recovered the bullet from under the hide, at the top of the brisket, perfect mushroom and about 65% retained weight. They work well on moose as well perfect mushrooms 70-90% retained weight. My hunting partner hit a large cow moose in the shoulder with a .30-06 factory load. It broke both shoulders, penetrated to under the far hide, and apart from one petal breaking off, it looked text-book.
Submitted by: Mooseman
Date: 11/18/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I recently shot a 4x5 whitetail at 90 yards the bullet entered behind the shoulder that left a fist sized hole on entrance and created an awful lot of blood shot due to expanding too redily in this case.the buck for my neck of the woods dressed weight was 146#.eceptional but all fat on his body. went approx 80 yards before going down the bullet did mushroom well back to to the cannalure but did a lot of damage to the front half this was in a .270 win loaded with 56.5 grs of Imr 4350. this load appears to be to fast for the bullet construction for this short range.this animal was shot in the armpit.coming apart like it did i may be shooting to fast for its construction.
Submitted by: Don Compton
Date: 10/23/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have just started to shoot this bullet in the 200 grain factory load for my sako 338 win magnum.I shoot half inch groups at 100 yards.The round is very easy on recoil for a 338.If it works as well as the 150 grain load i have been using for my 300 win it should be good for anything in northern british columbia were i live.
Submitted by: mike
Date: 9/17/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I have used this bullet in the 150 load for my 300 win mag on large game in British Columbia for moose mule deer and black bear.Even at it,s high rate of speed I have had good luck through heavy bone and hide without core seperation and very good wieght retenion.
Submitted by: MIKE
Date: 7/8/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I currently shoot these in my .270 classic feather weight.accuracy is very good under 1"easily at 100 yds.I just developed a load for these that at 200 yards they will pass completely thru 7/16 mild steel plate.I already know they are devastating on deer. I just did not realize what they still had penatration wise at this distance.for a lead nosed bullet this is impressive.Too bad they don't make an armor pierce in a.277 diameter I would sure like some.
Submitted by: DON COMPTON
Date: 4/14/2004
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
I shot a whitetail doe at 65 yds with the 150 grainer from my .30-06. Double lung shot taking the rib on the exit. Two inch exit wound and she went about 50 yds.
Submitted by: Dave
Date: 12/27/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
Shooting an 8mm 170 GR PP @2750fps at a range of 10 to 15 yards the bullet broke the near side leg, broke two ribs going in, cut the top of the heart off (aorta completely apart from the heart with half of the top ventricle still attached) broke a rib on the far side and stopped under the skin. Mushroom was perfect, weight retention was phenomenal at 162gr. The heart-shot deer ran about 65 yards before running out of blood. Most impressive shot I have ever made on a whitetail buck.
Submitted by: Chief Knox
Date: 11/11/2003
Rifle used:
Caliber:
Hunting performance: Accuracy performance:
Rating is from 1-6, where 6 is best.
-----------
 
HomeBack to bullet review page
 



Contact us at "mailto:reloadersnest@msn.com" reloadersnest@msn.com

   
     
© reloadersnest. All Rights Reserved. www.reloadersnest.com
Privacy Policy